Breaking Bread

img_6176

No, literally. I couldn´t seem to find a good translation for the term, but I´m sure there is one, even if pull apart bread or break apart bread is not quite adequate. I don´t usually do recipes on here, but some things are just too good not to share. If you follow me on instagram you may have gathered that I bake once in a while, and for the past months I´ve really been enjoying a recipe for “breaking bread” from Treningsfrue, though I don´t think I´ve ever done so without a few alterations as convenient. Here goes

500g sifted spelt flour – Though usually I´ll use wheat because spelt is expensive, and I´ll add in some oats for good measure. The oats gives it a nice consistency when done.

250g wholemeal spelt flour

125g-200g cottage cheese – The original recipe calls for 1/2 box of the stuff, and that all depends on the size you get. Most of the time I feel like being extravagant or healthy or whatever, and go for 200g.

25g yeast – Though if you want to do it the way I like to, use 1 tsp, and let it rise in the fridge overnight.

2 tbs yoghurt – I usually skip this because I can´t be bothered to keep it in the house.

1 dl barley – The original says to let it sit in water for 12 hours, but you can easily let it sit for five or just use it dry. I don´t sieve it though. Oh, and throw in some linseed if you´re going to let it sit. It´s healthy and gives it a nice consistency.

A fistful of hazelnuts – crush these as much as you like

A fistful of almonds – crush these as much as you like or skip altogether.

3dl lukewarm milk

2,5 dl lukewarm water 

I also like to add a bit of honey, a few grains of salt and sunflower seeds. And I don´t do nuts by any specific measure. But if you´ve got some boiled potatoes leftover from dinner, that´ll sure be grand if you mash it up and add to the mix. We don´t do that much here, but what I find to be really tasty is adding some grated carrots – as many as you like.

Mix the dry stuff. Add the barley (and linseed). You can mix the yeast with the fluids or the flour, depending on the kind you use. Add the cottage cheese and the fluids and stir. The dough is supposed to be sticky.

Now, if you want freshly baked bread for breakfast, put it in the fridge over night. If you need it now, you´re going to have to have a bit of patience, because the dough needs to rise for an hour or so.

Now, pour the dough onto a baking tray (remember to use a sheet), and smear it out until it covers the whole tray. Take a pizza slicer and cut as many pieces as you like, and let it rise for another 30 minutes. Preheat the oven to 215*C. Go over the breaks with your slicer once more before baking for 10 minutes.

img_6181

Break apart the pieces at your convenience. It´s as tasty as breakfast or lunch as it is accompanying a hot bowl of soup.

 

 

Leave a Reply

