A Taupe Secret Love

on

Guerlain Taupe SecretShhh! Don’t tell the BF, but I’ve found myself a new love, and it’s Taupe Secret. I’ve been raving about this one since I first swatched almost a month ago, and now it’s finally here!

The new Guerlain Écrin 1 Couleur. The box promises longlasting silky eyeshadow, and while I can’t tell you too much about the long last claim – I always wear primer – the one time I didn’t, but wore it on top of my Charlotte Tilbury Fallen Angel (that was back when I first swatched) it survived the trip home, complete with a sunny walk and several hours at the airport, not to mention the flight.

Guerlain Taupe Secret

They’ve retained the gold case from the duo shades that everybody but me seems to dislike – I probably should dedicate a post to them – but the velvet pouch is gone. It didn’t really serve a purpose, because dust stuck to it like cray-cray, but I thought it a nice touch anyways.

The consistency is lovely, and it goes on very smooth. It’s almost like working with one of those hybrid products, because it’s so lovely to the touch. And I’ve said it before – these are the only accompanying sponge applicators I actually use.

Guerlain Taupe Secret

The colour of Taupe Secret is the best part of it though. It doesn’t really look like much in the pan, but on the lids it’s a one shadow wonder. Fans of MAC Satin Taupe or Urban Decay Stray Dog, don’t despair. They are nothing alike, so you can have both. It’s a light taupe, quite close to my skintone, with a metallic sheen that serves to brighten and awaken my eyes in a minute. It doesnt even look like I’m wearing eyeshadow as much as my eyes just got their own lighting crew. It’s that kind of supermodel-glowy thing that you don’t know you’re looking at until you see the close-up.

Guerlain Taupe Secret

I’m wearing it here and here. Oh, and I haven’t adjusted light, contrast or colour in these. Isn’t it gorgeous?

Have you had a look at these new lovelies?

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunny says:

    OK OK so I’m going to the Guerlain HQ tomorrow morning and I’ll get to see these! CAN’T WAIT! Taupe Secret is stunning!

    1. sirilovise says:

      D’you mean the mothership? Or just the local office? Next month I’m planning on picking up Brownie and Clyde. Oh, and there’s a beautiful khaki as well. I’ll be expecting lots of instagrams!

  2. the eyeshadow looks beautiful but i have to say the packaging is phenomenal!

    1. sirilovise says:

      It is! I probably did twenty shots just to capture the beauty of it. It was cloudy outside when I started, but this little golden treasure brought the sun out, I’m sure! I think a third of my obsession with the brand is packaging.

  3. Jane says:

    I bought this and I love this effortless eyeshadow. It is a cool and light taupe, leaning to silver on me, and has a light sateen sheen. Perfect for 20-second eye look when I just want to look less tired and more polished.

    1. sirilovise says:

      Exactly! With just enough definition! I could even wear it to a night out 🙂

  4. It’s beautiful, have to say I’m a sucker for a good taupe shade!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Whenever I need a quick eye look, because I spent too long in the the shower or in front of the computer before heading to work, this has become one of my go-tos. If ever I get to spend enough time at Bundoran or Portrush to achieve surfer-girl status, this and the Joli Teint powder will probably be my “Oh noes! I’m supposed to be in a meeting in 30 mins” rescue. I mean, a girl can dream, right?

  5. Sofia says:

    Sorry a few months late here and hello! I’m going to see if my counter has this because my favourite taupe is no more – it was a Nars and the package has melted, boo – so I’m on a mission to find another one I love. xx

Leave a Reply

