K. I. S. S. I. N. G. in the Nude

Charlotte Tilbury LipstickIf you hate scented lip products then none of this is for you, and you can now keep serching for whatever brought you to this space.

If you hate long stories, scroll down the page ’till you see the swatches.

If you want all the deets, well come in, sit down have a cup of tea and let’s talk nudes. Nude lipsticks, that is.

Up until last year when Estée Lauder launched their line of Pure Color Envy Sculpting Lipsticks I was pretty much a “go bold or go home” kind of girl. I hardly owned any nude lipsticks, and I only ever wore them with my most intense smokey eye looks, though I mostly wore lipgloss if my red lipsticks would take a look over the top. Even then my “nudest” nude only neared the concealer-grade territory when heavily layered. I preferred weaing it blotted in a manner to tone down my natural lip colour, which is quite pink. Back to the Pure Color Envy Sculpting Lipsticks, I was in love, but I just don’t feel I can justify picking up all the shades I want from a launch if I’ve already got a lot of similar ones. I had to get out of my bold-lipped comfort zone, so along with the deep Red Ego came Intense Nude and Desirable Nude.

This became a turning point for me, as I got more and more accustomed to seing a more muted version of my own lips, and in the end resulted in several nudes making their way into my collection, as well as a dream that Guerlain would launch the most perfect nude lipstick in their Rouge G formula. Limited edition, of course, with a delicate beige case. Yes, I dream of lipsticks. Don’t judge.

Now, it’s safe to say that the rose gold packaging of Charlotte Tilbury’s lipsticks have caught my eye, and there are quite a few reds and berries there I’d like to pick, but I’m concerned that would leave me with a lot of shades that are just too similar. So when I decided I wanted to try out some of the line, the obvious choice was to go for the mini trio and a couple of nudes.  Well lads… It was all for the blog, you know. Totally!

First, though, let me talk about the new conditioning Charlotte Tilbury lip products that launched recently. After all, if you’re going to wear lipstick you’ve got to take care of your lips. It doeasn’t matter that the lipstick is hydrating, in these weather condtions you’re still going to feel dry, and you’ll get patchy results if you don’t do the job properly.

Since first trying out the By Terry Baume de Rose it’s been love. After a weekend of surflessons my lips were so parched I was sure I would’t be able to wear lipstick for a month. After a week of treating them to Baume de Rose, they were in tip top shape and good to go. I’ve been singing their praises since.

At work, however, we don’t carry By Terry, and I like to know how well our products perform. I wear a lot of lipstick and gloss and balm throughout the day, and switching between shades really takes its toll on my lips. My go-to? Guerlain’s Baume de la Ferté. It really seems to soothe my lips and prep them for reapplication of whichever shade I’m after.

Having found a few things that works for me when my lips resemble the Sahara desert doesn’t mean that I’ve stopped looking for the next big thing, and in spite of my lips not taking too kindly to lip scrubs, when I got a code for free shipping I had to palce an order for the Prep, prime, colour & kiss kit from the CT website. After all, the balm includes several waxes and oils known to be nourishing to the skin as well hyaluronic acid and propolis. The latter is known for being antibacterial and nourishing, providing care, protection and healing to the skin, so I had to give it a go, even though the propolis extract is listed second to last on the ingredients list.

I’ve had quite a few bad experiences in using lip scrubs, but as I was swatching the following lipsticks I scrubbed my lips a few times, using Lip Love, which is far more often in a day than I’d usually do in the span of a month. It’s been a day, and my lips are actually in pretty good condition. It might be because I always proceed with caution, but I think it’s safe to say that this combination of sugar grains, oils and waxes are gentle enough, even for my lips to use at least once a week, providing moisture even as I massage it over my lips.

Lip Magic, while not being impressively magical, it has been getting a lot of use  since it’s arrival, and I’m glad to let you know that a little goes a long way. It feels somewhat dry to the touch, not very emollient, but that also means that I’ll have to press my lips together a lot, which I do, in order to make it budge. The dry consistensy also makes it a better base for my lipstick than, say, my Pawpaw. But I still have to blot for lipstick to properly adhere.

On to the lipsticks then, I’ll have to say, if Guerlain Rouge G levels of excellence is what you’re after, take your money elsewhere. I find the K. I. S. S. I. N. G. lipsticks to be less hydrating and creamy than a lot of others that I’ve tried. Nevertheless, they are great lipsticks in their own rights, and I’ve found them to be sufficiently long lasting, though, as you know, I don’t count the hours of wear. I am quite happy to flip up a mirror, pull out my lipstick and reapply, and in that respect these are nothing at all to be ashamed of. Pretty rose gold-coloured casings that makes you want to collect them all. But do you need to?

Charlotte Tilbury lipstick

I’ve used the Iconic Nude lip pencil with these swatches, which might have had a slight impact on colour similarity. It’s also possible that paler lips than mine, would provide more distinct differences between the swatches, but here’s my take on it.

None of the shades, I’m happy to say, are “concealer nudes”, that might draw all life from your face. These are colour-saturated shades, mostly with the same level of depth as my natural lipcolour, but with more beige.

Nude Kate

Nude Kate is the palest of the bunch. It’s also the beigest of the shades, but with enough warmth to keep it from deadening the appearance.

Penelope Pink is slightly pinker and warmer than Nude Kate, which in turn makes it a bit more natural shade for myself to wear, though I can tell you, the BF doesn’t stand a chance at telling the difference.

Confession

Speaking of the BF and telling the difference. I put Nude Kate on half my lip and applied Confession to the other and asked him which I should go for. Even though Confession is obviously darker, more similar to my natural shade but with a slight hint of beige and golden shimmers to warm it up and make lips appear a bit fuller, and has a slightly drier texture, wouldyabeliveit? “I don’t see a difference.”

As you can see from the swatches, this is quite different from the Matte Revolution in Very Victoria, but I’ve found the two to be very similar on my lips, to the degree that I think of Very Victoria as a matte version of Confession.

Bitch Perfect

Bitch Perfect, the second of my minis, is a peachier, warmer version of my own lips. This is a fave of Karen’s, by the way.

I know there are a lot of differing opinions on what is a “nude lipstick”, ranging from concealer-like shades like Estée Lauders Pure Color Long Lasting Lipstick in Vanilla Truffle and YSL Nude Beige, and some can’t seem to get a “nude enough” lipstick, but for the people such as myself who feel washed out when it gets “too nude” and are after something to tone down the shade of the lips these are some great candidates.

I really do think my lip colour and the lip liner has had quite a bit of impact here regarding similarities, because the differences are more pronounced in person than I’ve managed to convey through the swatches. Even so, these are lipsticks, not Pokemons, so unless you’re a blogger, makeupjunkie, collector or simply wear a lot of nude lipsticks, there’s no need to catch them all.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. What a great post, love Penelope Pink!

  2. I love Charlotte Tilbury lipsticks, I must confess. I have B* Perfect, Confession and then Velvet Underground. I only have one Rouge G in the shade Garçonne which is a red, and although it’s definitely creamy it has a little too much slip. It can migrate past my lip line and tends to slide all over the place all day. Perhaps a nude colour would work better.
    I really want to try the lip set Charlotte Tilbury offers, but I’m trying not to spend as much!
    Great post and I loved that you compared the nudes, I never realised Confession and Very Victoria were so similar!
    xx
    Ingrid Hughes

    1. sirilovise says:

      I think for me it’s actually more the vintage-inspired retro packaging that keeps me coming back for more.
      It reminds me of an old Estée Lauder Lipstick, only done right, and the rose gold colour is very flattering.
      Those big sets are gorgeous and very high on my wishlist, though I have some work set out for me going through even half of what I’ve got.
      To be honest, I was amazed at how hard it was to pinpoint the difference between the lot, but a lot of it’s down to the liner, I think. But Confession and Very Victoria is very similar. I could even forgive the BF for not being able to tell the difference. That he couldn’t tell Confession from Nude Kate, however…. 😉
      Have you tried using the Rouge G with KissKiss Lip Lift? I’m not big on the whole liner-thing yet (you know, the 90s kinda saw to that), but I am seriously considering picking that up to help me keep everything in place. I’ve been trying it at work a few times now with great results!

Leave a Reply

