Daytime Smokey Eye – Defy the rules

on

Vice 3As we’re getting more daylight each day I’m finding blog photography a bit easier to… ahem… schedule,  and I’ve realized that I haven’t dedicated much time to tutorials, so I’m going to try to do a bit more of that.

I really want to share with you how I go about my go-to look of late. Sometimes I use the Smashbox Full Exposure Palette, sometimes one of the Naked Basics. Mostly, however, and in spite of my less-than-glowing review, I’ve found myself employing the Vice 3 palette. I decided a tutorial would also be a great way of getting to know my new Zoeva brushes a lot better, so don’t be intimidated by the huge amount of brushes used – I often get by using three or four brushes.

Usually I start off with bare skin – mine’s acting up of late so I’m changing the pillowcase, taking a couple of days’ break from my Clarisonic, tossing the old brush head and hope for the best. Meanwhile, just focus on the eye makeup, because it’s not going to drastically improve overnight anyways.

My favourite eyeshadow primer is Urban Decay Primer Potion in Eden. A lot of people carry a lot less love for this little tube, but the yellowish beige colour works wonders for evening out my lids, providing me with a blank canvas to paint.

Vice 3 smokey eye

When I’m using only matte shades I apply a light shade all over the lid to the brows, but as I want to use a couple of shimmery shades for this, and really want them to stick I’m going with a pale highlighter shade, in this case Truth,  on the brow bone and Undone  as a transition shade in the crease. I like my transition shades to have a slight warmth to them, but otherwise create a soft graduation between the darker and lighter shades. Sometimes I’ll even use a bronzer with a light hand for this purpose.

Vice 3 smokey eye

Next I’ll take a dark shade on a smaller brush, preferably one with a slim, dense brush head that will easily follow the shape of the eye. I like the brush accompanying the Vice palette, and I’ve used Defy, though any dark brown will do. This too goes into the crease, but I’ll also take it down a bit at the outer corners of the eye to meet with the lashline in a v-shape.

If you now start blending you’ll have a simple daytime look that can easily transition to nighttime with a flick of liner and bold lipstick in no time.

Vice 3 smokey eye

Or you can do what I do and take an almost-black or black shade – I’ve used Revolver,  on a small, pointed brush and deepen the crease and outer V. also smudge the tinsiest bit along the outer thirds of upper and lower lashline.

At this stage my camera ran out of power, and by the time the battery had charged, most of the daylight was gone. The time in between was spent blending and tweaking until symmetrical, and then I moved on to the base and a bit of shading.

Vice 3 smokey eye

When I got my camera back on I patted Angel,  a shimmery warm grey onto the inner part of my lid and from the outer v to the middle, before patting on a bit of Last Sin, a shimmery champagne, to the middle of the lid.

I also applied Angel along the lower lashline and Last Sin in the inner corner of the eye.

Vice 3 smokey eye

I just got my hands on the Diorshow Kohl, which is a black, chunky twist-up pencil – not the kind I’d usually go for, but I’ve been using it almost every day for an easy line and flick. I’ve been using it to draw the line, and picked up a bit of product on an angled brush and gone over with that to even the line. Whatever remains on the brush, I’ll smudge just underneath the lower lashline at the outer third. Vice 3 smokey eye

A few finishing touches, adding highlighter and blending any uneven lines, and what feels like half a tube of mascara later and done. Just add a slick of lipstick or gloss.

Vice 3 smokey eye

There are lots of beauty rules out there, and I’m probably breaking ten just by wearing this for daytime, and twenty more when I opt for a jewel toned lid shade instead of these shimmering ones. I don’t really pay attention to “the rules” though. I’ll be sporting the kind of makeup for everyday that a lot of women only do for parties, but what’s the point of saving some of your favourite looks only for parties?

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunny says:

    Hey Syl, whoaa thanks for the tutorial! I have like ZERO smokey eye skills, so it’s always good to see how things are done by the experts 🙂 How does the Dior kohl fare on you? As it is with every eye product, I wonder if it’ll stay put on my oily monolids!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Hey, Sunny. I know you to have plenty smokey eye skills, but we all find techniques that work for us.
      The Dior kohl is lovely, though I’ve caught it migrating to my crease on one occasion – but it might be it wasn’t properly set when I ran out the door, because it hasn’t budged on any other occasion. I do wonder what I’ll do when the point wears down, though, but my only complaint after a week of using it almost every day is that I wish it was blacker. It’s very easy to apply and goes on with very little tugging – which in my case is due to the skin on my lids having lost some of their tautness of late. Hope my new eye essence from La Prairie can do something about that, even if it’s just halting the process 😜

  2. Paula says:

    Gorgeous look and I’m with you on breaking the makeup rules!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Hi, Paula:) I’m glad you like it.
      There’s something that’s so wrong about telling someone not to wear black liner, that they should only ever wear blue or brown mascara and that all things that glitters is bad. And don’t get me started on the advice given by colour experts. There are som rules that will help you improve your skill, but there are also those that will limit your enjoyment, and by doing that, imo, take away the main thing about make up – FUN 😉

Leave a Reply

