Who Wants To See Swatches Of The New Chanel Rouge Coco?

CHANEL ROUGE COCOI am very lucky in that, though I don’t get much sponsored products or invites to blogger events I do get some special insight through one of my part-time jobs as an SA in a beauty store, and by insight I mean the opportunity to attend inspirational evenings and quick-courses with some of the brands we carry.

If you follow my Instagram you’ll already know that I got to attend a Chanel course this week to get the deets on some of their recent and upcoming launches. Having followed @kateleemakeup for some time now, the one I was most eager to have a look at was the relaunch of Rouge Coco.

The Rouge Coco can be traced back to 1924, when it was dressed all in baige and the case was sylindrical. since then it has gone through quite a few incarnations, changing its name, shape and formula to the one we’ll be seeing on display in March. I haven’t really been a fan of the line, myself, finding it somewhat dry and sometimes a bit sheerer than I’d prefer, but the reformulated version is all about sass and chic with a bit of mydration on the side. Some of the paler shades are still more transparent than I like, but I’ve got quite pink lips (sometimes I’ve been asked which lipstick I’m wearing when all I’ve got on is a balm) so they won’t really do that much for me.

Armed with nothing but my Iphone, and everything about my genious Olloclip lens that was lying in my bag forgotten, I was allowed to do some quick swatches of the lipsticks to put up on my instagram and the blog. The trainer even kindly helped me taking a picture of myself wearing Arthur on my lips. Arthur the lipstick, that is. Every lipstick in the new lineup is named for people who were special to Gabrielle, and I’ll admit I’ve got my eyes on two or three of her lads already. And with hydrating ingredients such as jojoba esters (derived from jojoba oil) and mimosa and sunflower wax I don’t even think the BF can complain about my stealing a kiss from one of them. Or two. Or five.

Chanel Rouge Coco

ROUGE COCO

Top to bottom, left to right:

Adrienne, Misia, Roussy, Émilienne

Légende, Tehéran, Cécile, Catherine

Etienne, Ina, Vera, Arthur

Louise, Marie, Mademoiselle, Jean

Gabrielle, Coco, Julia, Antoinette

Suzanne, Olga, Dimitri

Never mind the bruise next to Gabrielle – I’ve just started playing volleyball again. Also a lot of the shades appear somewhat frosty, but mostly that’s a trick of the light.

swatch rouge coco arthur

We also got to have a look at one of the summer collection, launching in April, and I can tell you it is gorgeous. If you remember the cooling eyeshadow sticks from two years ago – They’re back! And then there’s a gorgeous bronzer, albeit somewhat sheer. It’s another one of those that you want just to look at. And some lovely shades for lips in the form of very pigmented glosses and sheer Rouge Coco shines. Also there’s a lovely purple eyeliner and some nail polishes (including a shimmery brown) that are definitely worth having a look at. The pictures will be all over the web soon, I suppose, but to tide you over I’ve got swatches of the eyeshadows, one of the glosses and two of the Rouge Coco Shine.

Chanel Collection Mediterrane

Eyeshadow shades no. 107, 137, 147, 117, 127

Forgot to take the number on the gloss, but RCS are shades no. 497 and 487.

Chanel Collection Mediterrane

Aaaaaand the bronzer, though you might not want to use it if you get your hands on it.

I was lucky enough to be gifted with the new Rouge Coco in Mademoiselle and the Hydra Beauty Micro Serum which also is big news. As my skin always feels a bit tight, I’m really looking forward to trying this, once I’ve finished with my La Prairie serum that I’m using for nights these days.

Anyone else eyeing something from the new collections? And did you see their spring collection? Hands up who’s picking up that LE blush (I’ve already got mine safe in a drawer until the light is right for a few pics).

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Mademoiselle looks like my type of shade!!

    1. sirilovise says:

      I can’t wait to start using it – I’m being a good blogger and saving it for photos atm, but I expect to have better swatches once I get the time during the properly lit hours. Thankfully we’re getting more of that every day now.

  2. Thanks so much for bringing us the news!
    It is so exciting, I can’t wait for new Rouge Cocos, the existing ones have great formula.

    1. sirilovise says:

      As if I could keep it to myself 😉 me neither. The new ones feel soooo good on the lips!

  3. Sunny says:

    Eeee my God thanks for the swatches! I definitely have my eye on several things, mostly the more pigmented shades. You know that nudes, neutrals, and beiges usually don’t speak to me 🙂 Also, just give me that bronze eyeshadow stick already!!!

    1. sirilovise says:

      I like to think we have quite similar tastes in lipstick. When Arthur started leaning coral on me it got me thinking of two things – Guerlain’s rouge kiss and “Sunny might know to appreciate this”.
      That’s what I was thinking. Just hand over the bronze. Such a nice consistency and they’ve kept the cooling effect. They’re going for an April launch, and bringing out a collection of les beiges in June. So much pretty!

Leave a Reply

