My Fabulous Five Favourites of 2014

guerlain benefit urban decayHope you enjoyed my favourite new releases of 2014. Here’s the second part, reviewing my most loved products of the past year. Now, I’ve found that my preferences have changed a lot, and along with that so has my favourite products, but there are some that are simply to good to let go of easily in favour of greener pastures. Here’s another top five.

I’d like to start with the Guerlain Tenue de Perfection foundation. This one was love at first touch. Before the Tenue I was a huge fan of BB and CC creams to give me lightweight, comfortable coverage. Foundation was something  saved for special occasions. With the Tenue de Perfection, every application is a special occasion. The texture is smooth and glides onto my skin, leaving me with gorgeously even, glowing skin that, with a bit of help from the Météorites Perles and some All Nighter setting spray from Urban Decay (when I remember to have spritz it on) I’m covered ’till I get home.

Speaking of the Météorites, they are another favourite product of mine, though, as they already made the previous list, I’m just going to say that everything about them – from the beautiful box to the glowing finish they leave on the skin – truly brightens the day. And yes, I love the scent too, and I do wish they’d bring it back!

Over the past year I’ve tried several different mascaras. From Benefit’s They’re Real to Lancôme’s Grandiôse, and Urban Decay’s Perversion, which comes in at a decent second when used in conjunction with the Subversion primer. My favourite mascara is still Cils d’Enfer. Can you tell that I’m a fan of Guerlain?

My favourite bronzer/sculpting powder this year is one that I kind of hit upon by accident. I entered a Feelunique giveaway and came out with Benefit’s “The Bronze of Champions” kit. Included were their famous Hoola bronzing powder that I’d heard great things of, but didn’t quite believe the hype. In the end though, it turns out that I’m employing that far more often than my Anastasia Contour Kit, and I did in no way consider it a waste when one of the pans in my Cheeky Sweet Spot palette was another of the magical, natural-looking powders.

Some things are often in rotation in my stash, some things remain. One thing you hardly ever see me without, however, when wearing makeup primer is Urban Decay’s Primer Potion in Eden. I love how it evens out my lid to create a blank canvas for a more even, saturated application of eye makeup, making it easier to blend and simply improving the performance of any eyeshadow.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I love your Guerlain obsession and you know I’m as crazy about the Meteorites as you are! I’d love to try that mascara!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Today I was actually told that there’s a chance I’ll get to attend a few extra courses with the brand through work because everyone and their dog knows I’m hooked on the stuff!
      I don’t even want to open the tube I’ve got lying in a drawer because then I’ll finish it as well, and I like having it around :p
      Though make sure you remove some of the excess if you try it – I do that by scraping half the brush on the side of the tube as I pull it out then get the gloopy bit into the base of my lashes and comb through using the “clean” side. And don’t work with it too much – just two or three combs through with the wand.

  2. Hi Siri,
    I also purchased Anastacia Contour Kit after seeing it on you and I couldn’t test it throughly until now. Which shades do you use often? I don’t know what to do with some of the shades such as that yellow banana one lol. I have to yet try Guerlain Tenue de Perfection foundation, with Guerlain foundations I have an undertone problem, they are a little too pink to me. Which shade do you use?

    1. sirilovise says:

      Hi Sara.
      I like using the banana in th “triangle” underneath my eye to cancel out some of the redness on my cheek as well as the rather purple tinge I sometimes get under my eyes. I tend to use all of them, though the semi-matte highlight and the middle contour, fawn, are my faves, then I’ll do Havanato create more depth and use Java around the edges to give my face a bit more warmth.
      Have you tried the Parure Gold line? That’s got a bit less of a pink tinge. Also, there’s the numbers – 12, 13, 14 are pinker than the others, 23, 24, 25 are more yellow, and then there’s the “regular” ones. I use 02, though if 01 had been available that would provide a better match for me most of the year. But I love it so much I’ll fake a tan to be able to wear it, rather than trying to find another that I love as much. Though I am curious about the Zelens line, and I’ve found a pretty good match in La Prairie that I’m very tempted by;)

Leave a Reply

