Dior Trafalgar – The Standout in a sea of Neutrals

Dior Trafalgar paletteI wanted one LE palette in the sea of palettes that launched for autumn, and I was close to getting YSLs Fetiche palette due to it’s pretty casing, but decided that I simply had too many neutral palettes with too many similar shades to justify a purchase. Then appeared the beautiful, neutral Chanel quad of the Etats Poetiques collection, and I not only had to add to the whole neutral oreal all over again, but also had to remind myself of my less than impressive experiences with the baked Chanel shadows – mind, I seem to be the only girl in the world who doesn’t seem to be over the moon excited by these quads, and I’ve even been lucky enough to get the testers of a few. I still fiind they don’t live up to my expectations when I apply them to my lids, but I have very hugh expectasions. However, I digress. My point is, I skipped this neutral as well.

Instead I found myself succumbing to the allure of that one palette in the sea of neutral releases – like Fey Sommer’s red gown unleashed at Modes black and white ball it stood there unaplogetic and bold – Dior’s Trafalgar palette.

Black and white ball? I guess I didn’t get the memo.

Dior Trafalgar eyeshadow palette

I knew the cool-toned gold, the plummy bronze and the matte red shades would look great with my green eyes, but I also worried that the red would make my eyes appear swollen. After all, the model’s skin had been perfected and then probably edited after a session of perfect photography lighting. Would it only be suitable for parties? Better yet, would it only be suitable for longingly gazing upon and stroking the hairs of the accompanying brush?

Finally, did I dare chance such an untraditional mix for the eye area?

The rest is ancient history. Like the pyramids, babe!

SAMSUNG CSC

 

I was very pleased to find that the plummy, shimmery bronze of the palette applied smoothly lending only a satin sheen to the surface, and it pairs up beautifully with the gold. Mind you, while lovely with an end of summer tan these shades aren’t the typical bronze goddess shades as much as the cool city chick who’s relieved to put on her coat with a matching scarf and boots and enjoy a good cup of coffee in the park on a crisp autumn day. Yes, the gold has a shimmer finish, but it’s far from discoball-land, and very sophisticated.

I found that the pink provided more of a champagne shimmer, but was very translucent, the same goes for the golden cream shade. They are however great for layering and has a brightening effect when placed on top of another eyeshadow. I would however gladly have traded one of them for a bone-coloured satin to matte shade as those are my preferred highlighters.

Yes, yes, yes, that’s all very well, I know. What’s interesting to know is how the red shade performed.

Well, I might even go so far as to say this is love.

It applies smoothly, adding to the depth of the overall look, as well as giving what would otherwise be just another pretty palette an edge. I’ve mostly applied it to the crease, blending it into the bronze with the gold on the moving lid, and it works very well for an everyday look. I haven’t really tried using the red as a more dominant shade, mostly because for the nonce I am content channeling the look from Dior’s promo shots, pairing the eyeshadow look with one of my Guerlain Kiss Kiss lipsticks. Because I love me a bit of luxe.

Now excuse me while I go back to gazing lovingly at my fantabulous fall treat.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I have to say I have a special love for Dior palettes!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Personally, I’ve been having an addiction to the UD palettes (with the added bonus of having bought most of them in my fave city, Dublin) although I’m lusting after half of the new Dior releases BAD. I think I might just have to pick up Cuir Cannage tomorrow after work – see my instagram, and might I say, it’s lovely to see you there.

Leave a Reply

