Why, Honey, I don’t know how it happened.

Anastasia Contour KitWell, actually, this time I do.

I’d been trying for a long time to resist the allure of Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit. And I was doing very well. I skipped reviews in my bloglovin feed, I ignored tutorials, and wa content just playing with my Clarins and Michael Kors bronzers, and my Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders for enhancing my cheekbones, occasionally using Urban Decay’s Tease for a more dramatic effect. I even resisted when Linda Hallberg put it to use, even enabling her readers by mentioning an online store that had it in stock. I also remained strong when it made its way to the Kicks online store – in which I have a loyalty card. But then Sara of Love Thing posted a haul and with her following tutorial my resolve started to crumble. I would’ve managed though, if not for one teensy tiny detail. It popped up in store.

Mind you I did last almost a week, telling myself “You’re not a makeup artist. You don’t need it. Only a makeupartist, or people working with studio lighting and photography would need it. You don’t.” But then one of my closest friends said “Well, maybe you’re not a mua, but you do have a blog. Don’t you need it for the blog?”. So, yeah. In the name of blogging I got the Anastasia Contour Kit. And what do you know, in spite of my lowly status of mere mortal we do get along very well.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit

For those who might be new to the kit, it consists of six shades – three highlighters and three contour shades – in a sturdy cardboard palette with a magnetic close to keep the lid shut. The kit available here would probably be best suited to light to medium tones, although there is a chance that my porcelain and peaches-and-cream skinned friends might benefit from the highlighters and the lightest contour shade.

The three highlighters are the Vanilla, a creamy almost-matte beige with an almost indiscernible sheen. It reminds me of Urban Decay’s Walk of shame, though it might have a touch more yellow to it, and slightly more sheen. Banana is a matte yellow and Sand is a shimmery champagne in the pan, although on my skin this merely reflects the light with seemingly no opacity.

The contour shades included are Java, Fawn and Havana. I was somewhat worried that the shades would turn out too warm for a believable contour on my skin, however the only shade I’ve found I’m not enjoying that much is the warmer bronze shade Havana – which I mostly use to add warmth to my face. Meanwhile I’m thoroughly enjoying blending and layering the cooler-toned Fawn with Java, both of which have enough gray in them to mimic a “natural” shadow. The former is great for a natural shading of the cheekbone and nose, while the latter provides a lovely deepening of the contour.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit

Swatches were one swipe using my fingers.

I’ve found I really enjoy using this palette for a naturally sunkissed “barely there” makeup look – even though that means wearing more makeup than I’ve used these previous weeks, as I’ve mostly skipped foundation and BB/CC creams these past months.

I’ve used this both for everyday and for a full-on party makeup, and I know that if I’m invited to help with the premiere for the Hobbit movie at our local movie theatre, this will most definitely accompany me there. In the meantime I’ll just play around with this, trying out Sara’s tutorials, and experiment with just how high I can get my cheekbones – and maybe post the results to instagram if my hands doesnt cramp up around my brushes altogether in the process.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunny says:

    Hahaha yeah these things happen :p Sometimes it’s just meant to be!

    I really don’t contour that much, so I think I’m safe this time. This does look like a very versatile palette though!

    1. sirilovise says:

      I should get credit for tryng, though;)

      It’s definitely on my packing list for the next time I go away 🙂

  2. You’re going to get to help with The Hobbit premiere??

    1. sirilovise says:

      Haha, I hope I’ll have time for it. It’s at the local movie theatre, though, but it’s the event of the year 😉 If I’m really lucky I’ll even get to do a little walking around in the guise of an elf, myself.
      But really, it’s just a local, small-scale arrangement, but some of the folks working there are really creative, and happens to be friends of mine from the time I did some Halloween makeup for the people working there. Got nothing to do with the Hollywood red carpet stuff on TV, but it’s great craic 😉

Leave a Reply

