A Desirable Nude

Desirable 120

Remember my review of Esteé Lauder’s new Pure Color Envy Lipstick? Well, I’ve a confession to make. Shortly after adding Intense Nude and Red Ego to my collection of lippies, I went  way out of my comfort zone and bought another from the range. I love wearing reds and plums, and recently, Urban Decay’s Catfight has been frequenting my handbag, so I think it’s safe to say I’m not one to shy away from a bit of colour.

Nudes on the other hand, and not the My Lips But Better kind of nudes, but the paler than my lips kind is one that I’ve seen turn into chalky concealer lips, blending into my foundation lips or I have no lips too often. Not to mention the oh-so-lovely combination of a harsh, unblended lipliner and pale lipgloss or lipstick – I grew up in the 90s, and some people never grew out of it – has made the pale nude lip something I’ve found hard to pull off. Actually I think it’s harder to find a wearable nude than a wearable red or even pink, but after trying out Desirable a few times in store I decided to go for it.

I suppose some of my slight aversion to wearing a pale nude lip might stem from my being used to my own pigmented lips, and so a paler lip feels unnatural, but the soft pinky beige of Desirable is actually one I feel I can pull off. It’s not too light in shade, so it doesn’t wash me out, and the finish is a wonderful velvet – neither too shiny nor too matte.

Esteé Lauder 120

The formula is, as with the rest of the line, amazingly hydrating and lasts for hours. I don’t really time lipstick wear because I love pulling it out and reapplying – which is made more pleasurable by the heft of the casing and the magnetic “click” as it snaps shut. Not to mention the way the glossy midnight blue and gold detailing appeals to my sense of aesthetics.

And well aware that similar shades are available at a lower price, I am very much lusting after some more shades of Pure Color Envy simply because the formula is incredible – like the red-orange Impassioned, the lovely pinks Powerful and Dominant, the classic red that is Envious – and I can definetely see myself wearing Emotional or Decadent into fall.

Have you tried it yet?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I tried a red from this range and adored it, the quality is amazing! This shade is gorgeous on you!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Thanks 🙂 They are brill. I read your review, and that one’s on my lust list – but I already own too many classic reds, and it’s rare that I figure I have too much of anything makeuprelated 😉

Leave a Reply

