A Malicious Influence On The Romantic Smoked Palette

Romantic SmokedEver since I saw the first promo pics of Angelina Jolie as Maleficient I’ve been wanting to do a heavily contoured look based on the character, and when a tutorial popped up on beaut.ie I felt that familiar twitch in my fingers. I could’ve done this using wax to get the extreme cheekbones of Maleficient, but I didn’t feel like spending tomorrow trying to get rid of the residue.

It woudn’t feel right, although I’m sure you’re clever enough to see it for yourself, if I didn’t give appropriate warning: I’ve made some adjustments to these pictures – mostly to get the right vibe.

Initially I thought of using my Naked 2 palette, but as I opened the drawer Makeup Revolution’s Romantic Smoked palette caught my eye, and I knew that the mauvey matte half would be perfect for what I had in mind. I needed Walk of Shame for highlighting, though, as the creamy yellowish matte of the MR palette is somewhat darker than what I was going for. Other colours used were UDs Secret Service, a grey-tinged almost taupe brown, and my fave for contouring and sculpting, Tease. I almost went with Guerlain’s Rouge G L’Extrait in Orgueil, but there was something almost poetic about using  Esteé Lauder’s Red Ego for this one.

I did the eyemakeup first, as there will always be some fallout and this is a smoked out look, starting with UDPP in Eden. I love how this one evens out the tone on my lids, giving me a bare canvas to work on. Then I got down to it, layering and blending the mattes, giving depth and a bit of mystique to the eyes. Blending is one of the true tests of a shadow, I find, and if it doesn’t blend well, or disappears entirely during the process it just won’t fly. In my experience, this is where budget brands fail miserably. My experience however, stems from about 5-7 years ago, and it appears they’ve changed since than.

The Makeup Revolution Romantic Smoked palette performs surprisingly well in this area, though, and I can’t stress enough that this is a palette that costs the same as two bags of my fave chips, but lasts longer. So while I have decided to hand my Disappear till tomorrow palette of the same brand (I don’t feel I’m able to give this a fair review as I keep comparing it to Naked) to a friend and have her do a review on it, this one stays with me.

I’ve found staying power, at least over my UDPP is good, so remember to tap your brush into the powders, and maybe even carefully tap some product off the brush, and you’ll be grand investing in a Makeup Revolution palette. There will be some excess, but I’ve found that there usually is, especialy with matte shades, and I use this budget friendly palette more often than I opt for certain high-end brand offerings. I did some swatches here, if you’d like a closer look.

Maleficient Romantic Smoked

I also used Makeup Revolution’s The One Foundation in shade 4, which colourwise is a bit off, as it’s too peachy to blend properly with my skin, but it’s a good consistency, and coverage is satisfactory. I’d rather like getting the right shade of this, as I don’t feel like wearing it outside the house so can’t give a proper review, but at 4£ it’s not a huge loss, and I’ll probably find a use for it.

Because I’m too lazy to get up, and it’s a fairly recent acquisition I don’t know the shade of the cream shadow that I buffed into the hollows of my cheekbones before applying foundation, but it’s a taupey grey from Rimmel, similar to Tease. Another cream product making its way into this look is Urban Decay’s Super Saturated Liner, as well as Anastsia Beverly Hills dip-brow pomade – did I mention I love wearing this as a liner as well? Secret Service and Tease was employed in order to get some serious contouring done – but for some reason this didn’t show up in photos at all, not even during my experimental editing.

SAMSUNG CSC

Also making an appearance is Guerlain’s Meteorites compact, Clarins’ Instant Concealer, Clinique’s Lash Power Feathering Mascara. I also should mention Clarins Instant Light Radiance Boosting Complexion Base, which has become a staple in my makeupbag. I usually wear shade 02, but for this look I needed to counteract the peach of the foundation somewhat, so I opted for 01 instead, which I got attending a Clarins course. In case you’re confused, 01 is good for fai skin, but others might use it in order to achieve more of a porcelain touch – it’s rosier than the others – , whereas 02 is yellower, and thus excellent for counteracting redness in light skintones.

Who’s going to see Maleficient?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunny says:

    Hey Siri, OOOO you did GREAT! It might sound weird, but Red Ego contrasts so beautifully with your green eyes! I wonder if it’s always like this when someone with green eyes wears a red lipstick? 😉

    1. sirilovise says:

      Thanks, girl. It doesn’t sound weird at all. Like I said, I did some adjustments on these photos, especially that last one, but I’ve got certain makeup products as well as items of clothing that’ll make my eyes seem greener or bluer to the point where I’ve been “accused” of wearing coloured contacts :p

Leave a Reply

