First Impressions of Makeup Revolution

Makeup RevolutionYou know when you’ve got so much to do you just don’t know where to start, so you find yourself spending some quality time with the sofa instead? Well, since my last post that’s what blogging ha been like for me. I’ve got so many photos to take, choose and adjust for posts that in the end I wound up doing everything else. This includes the Meteorites review I’ve been thinking of writing since January, a post on snakes, my first nude lipstick in years – and the first one ever that I love – a new addition to my mascara wardrobe, the Clarins primers.. The list goes on.

A new budget-friendly brand has caught my attention, however, one that ships internationally. At the moment recieving quite a bit of attention for their Iconic palettes – seemingly dupes of Urban Decay’s Nakeds, Makeup Revolution London is rapidly taking over my bloglovin feed. I must admit, I’m not overly impressed by their site – I find it to be rather slow –  but they stock a vast variety of products that appear to be a good value for your money. There aren’t nearly enough swatches of stuff, though, so I decided to do my duty as a blogger and place an order. You know, strictly in the name of blogging. And while in the name of blogging I really ought to get the Iconic 1, 2 and 3 palettes in order to compare to the Nakeds, I personally don’t need a dupe of products that I own and love.

Anyways, today Teyla and I went for a walk/run, and while we were eating breakfast upon our return, a package found its way nto the mailbox. Now, like I said, there really aren’t enough swatches of ths stuff to go around, most relate to the Iconic palettes and Scandalous lipstick lines anyways, so I decided to do some hurried swatches, in case anyone was considering placing an order.

Romantic Smoked

First there’s the Romantic Smoked palette. The casing is simple, but seems to hold a lot of product. Going from left to right, there’s a lovely selection of six shimmer shades and six mattes. The selection leans plum, and the scale is really lovely – I can even imagine doing a bridal look with this one – but these are just initial thoughts. Swatched, the eyeshadows feel soft to the touch, less buttery than Urban Decay shades, but also less dry than certain others. Maybe somewhat similar to Dior? I’ll make a note to self on looking into that. Anyways, this is making a far better impression than I’d expect from a product in the price range of a Latte.

Romantic Smoked

Moving on, I opted for some of their blushes. Their Vivid Baked Blushes are Gorgeous to look at, with their marbleized surface and shimmery particles. I went with Hard Day, which is a lovely, muted shimmery pink, not unlike Michael Kors’ Flush, now that I think of it. Yet another item to investigate further.

Vivid Baked Blusher Hard Day

I was hoping Caramel Shake would be a bit more taupey – I’m always on the hunt for a good contour shade. That said, it’s a lovely tan peach, and will probably be great for toned-down natural looks, the kind where cheeks need to be subtly defined to complete the look.

Cream Blush Caramel Shake

Colourwise, Vivid Blush Lacquer in Heart is shown more accurately on the site than I’d hoped. The shade on the site is a muted peach, and that’s what you get – I was hoping for a more vivid, brighter shade. That said, I think I like the liquid cream consistency of the lacquer better than the cream blush. It’s sheered out easily, but you can also build it up for a more intense shade. It dries down to a natural finish, not overpowering the natural sheen of the skin, nor turning the surface to a discoball mess. I haven’t got anything in my stash that I can compare it to consistency-wise, so I’m very interested to play with this one.

Vivid Blush Lacquer Heart

When Stila’s Foil shades launched I was very keen on trying ’em out, but I couldn’t bring myself to purchase. Was I excited to see what seems to be an excellent dupe on the Makeup Revolution site?

SAMSUNG CSC

Finally, if you want to wear a particular shade, or just lipstick in general, but you’re not sure you can pull it off, so you can’t bring yourself to buy that gorgeus Guerlain or amazing Esteé Lauder lipstick – I am lusting after a bright pink these days – you might want to give these a go. Obviously, the Makeup Revolution lipsticks don’t even come close to my fave lippies in any way. That said, neither #happylips or the regular lipstick feels uncomfortable.  They don’t last long, they feel slippery, and colour is somewhat sheer. But, like I said, if you’re trying something out, or just getting a lipstick for that one occasion or outfit, you can’t beat this price. Actually, when you consider the pricetag, 1£-3£, their performance is rather impressive. I’ve got the shades Crime and Electric Love, and while Crime was a shade I picked to see how it would work out – not too bad, actually – I can see the latter getting quite a bit of use.

Crime and #happylips Electric Love

Makeup Revolution hasn’t wasted anything of expensive or fancy packaging. Even so, the shiny, black plastic casings feel sturdy, and doesn’t add any unnecessary weight to your makeup bag. At the price, the palette being the most costly item, I probably wouldn’t become hysterical either in the event that something should break *knocks on wood*. I mean, not happy, but not hysterical.

This isn’t Urban Decay, Chanel, YSL, Laura Mercier, whatever. And mostly you get what you pay for, so I don’t expect the Makeup Revolution products to perform along the lines of my high-end stuff. I don’t see myself subbing my beloved Guerlain or Lauder lipsticks for these. However, I am optimistic about the line – eyeshadows in particular – after having read several positive reviews and I’m really looking forward to playing around some more with these little lovelies. Might even get around to posting some proper reviews – or so one may hope.

Anyone else intrigued by the Makeup Revolution?

Happy Monday.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I really want to try one of the eye palettes!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Thus far I’m very pleased with this one. I did a look yesterday and after six hours there was only the kind of creasing and fade that I myself would notice, not much more than I get from my Clinique palette. Only tried using a few shades, though, and as I’ve no previous experience with the brand I don’t feel like giving a thorough review yet. What I can say is that it’s a lot higher quality than the one’s I’ve had from H&M (10 years ago). Aaaaand I’ve already got another palette on the way to, you know, see if the quality’s consistent 😉

      1. Haha all in the name of research!

      2. sirilovise says:

        Why of course 😉 I’ll also be going to Northern Ireland in the name of research. The lengths us dedicated folks will go to to get information out to the public 😉

  2. Sunny says:

    Hey girl, thanks for the overview! That cream shadow looks SO metallic! Kinda wonder how it holds up and so on, so keep me posted 🙂

    1. sirilovise says:

      I’m torn between my fear of it creasing badly (haven’t gotten around to testing it yet) and wearing it as an under-eye liner with a cat eye for a concert tomorrow – not sure how that’ll look with my new, white lacey top, though ;p Will definetely do a review, though. And by the way, feel free to supply some makeup suggestions for the concert, because I’ve too many options and can’t decide :p

Leave a Reply

