A Few Droplets Of Sunshine

Radiance-Plus Golden Glow Booster

So, you’ve got the Monday Blues, it’s pouring down outside, you’re feeling drab and then you step into the bathroom only to see your face in the mirror – a ghostly pallor that no amount of bronzer can amend without looking like you’ve spent the morning rolling in mud. Well, this week is getting off to a good start, eh?

You step into the shower, have a proper scrub-down with something that smells nice, and feeling slightly better – because that’s what showers do, they make things better – step out to face the white canvas that is your face. You go through the usual steps of toning, applying an oil or serum, eyecream. You’ve opened the lid on your moisturizer, but then reach for a small 15ml bottle of golden liquid and after scooping out a small amount of gloop you let three small droplets of the liquid fall and mix with your moisturizer before applying it to your face. Then you make yourself a cup of tea, enjoy a nice breakfast and go to apply makeup on your now slightly more human appearance.

That little bottle of liquid sunshine is Clarins Radiance-Plus Golden Glow Booster, and it’s the most natural self-tan for face that I’ve encountered. While others have left my skin slightly itchy, I mix this with my regular moisturizer and without a second thought to it go about my business. Come to think of it, it doesn’t feel sticky or slippery at all once applied, either, which I’ve expereinced wih other products.

I got my first impressions of the stuff at a course where I got to try it on my hand, mixed with a moisturizer – because you should never ever ever use this undiluted – and forgot all about it (except for wanting to try it for real). A few days later, however, a glance at my hands left me somewhat puzzled. My right hand was a less-than-flattering shade of grey, whereas the left was a healthy golden shade. Having very cold hands most of the time, my initial though was that something had inhibited circulation in my hand, but then I remembered the Golden Glow Booster that I’d tried. Whatever doubt I’d had whether or not this was for me melted like snowflakes in the sun.

This stuff really is a pleasure to use, I get almost immediate results, and after almost two weeks there’s not a streak or unevenness in sight. Sometimes I’ll apply three drops, sometimes two, and sometimes I don’t use it at all, and I get the most natural, healthy, sunkissed glow – which is brill as my face just won’t tan anymore. And mind you, 2-3 drops is all you need, so 15ml is going to last you a long time, so don’t let the size of the product put you off. Also, this reduces the layers of product applied to skin and doesn’t interfere in any way with your other skin care products, so whether your needs are heavy-duty anti-ageing or just a bit of moisture you can add this to your routine.

Bonus points for there hardly being a scent to speak of, and the tint making skin discolourations such as spots and red cheeks less obvious. Also for being a self-tan to which I’ve yet to get any skin reactions – So Clarins, if you’re listening, could I please get a concentrate for to mix with my body cream as well?

Happy Monday.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Ooh really want to try this now!

    1. sirilovise says:

      I’d be very interested in hearing how it works with a celtic complexion, so I’ll be expecting a review for when you do 😉

  2. Sunny says:

    Whoa, thanks for the review!!! I never ever paid much attention to self-tan at all. I did get some of the NUXE ones to try, but I’m still a little scared to be honest. I mean, what if I turn… orange??? This sounds promising though! If I only have to mix three drops, I’ll feel much less intimidated as well. Might have to put some on the back of my hand next time I see Clarins.

    1. sirilovise says:

      I’ve used three without getting tangoed, so I doubt you would turn out the dreaded shade of orange, but you could always have a go using two. Downer about the testers, though as they are mainly for you to get a feel of the consistency, and unless Norway’s that much different from anywhere else, it won’t contain any of the tinting agents.

      That said, this is made for the user to creat a tailor-made natural tan. It’s a far cry from the results I get from my Guerlain self-tan for face and body, which somehow made my face look mask-like (although fab for body).

Leave a Reply

