Red Ego and Intense Nude from Estée Lauder

on

Pure Color Envy Sculpting Lipstick

I couldn’t think of a good title for this post, so I kept it simple and continued admiring my new Estée Lauder Pure Color Envy Sculpting Lipsticks. I concentrated very hard to not write colour there.

Ever since Emma did her review of the line I’ve been intrigued by this new offering from the company, and then Karen did a review, and I just couldn’t wait for it to pop up in stores here. I was not disappointed. These lovelies are everything you could want in a lipstick – unless you’re in the market for something matte.

The casing’s a classy, glossy navy blue and gold, that magnetically snaps shut with a click. One’d think this tiny detail didn’t matter, but it really adds to the feeling of luxe. And you know it won’t just slide open and ruin not just the product but the contents of your purse as well.  Not that I’ve ever had that happen to me, or heard of anyone that did, but it’s nice to know.

The shades I invested in – Yes it’s an investment. Lipsticks make you happy. – are Intense Nude and Red Ego, forgoing the orange lip-trend currently seen just about everywhere. The former is something rare in my collection, as it’s a very neutral shade. This is not your concealer-nude shade of nude lippie, but a gorgeous brown with a pink tinge, that gives a bit more life to your face while still being subtle enough to pair with a smoky eye. The latter is a red berry, more suitable for everyday wear than Shame.

The formula applies smooth, without tugging. Combined with the angled bullet this leaves you with a precisely applied lipstick that in my experience doesn’t call for a lipliner or brush – I’ve yet to notice any feathering or bleeding so Score! The shades are opaque in one swipe, so if you’re in the market for a bright pink or a Kim K grade shade of nude you might want to have a swatch of these. They seem long lasting, though I haven’t really put them through any extreme testing – but I’ll edit should they fail – yet is very lightweight without being drying. Quite the opposite, actually.

After spending the weekend at a volleyball tournament my skin, including my lips, is parched and having acquired yet another nasty cold doesn’t help. Even so, my session of swatching Pure Color Sculpting Lipsticks left my lips feeling moisturzed and healthy. There’s no shimmer in these, just creamy loveliness with a slight sheen that enhances the lips, making them look naturally full and erases any visible traces of dryness.

I probably should mention that the lipsticks are scented, but it’s very discreet, and either fades very quickly or is mild enough that I’m easily accustomed to it – and let me just say that I hated the new YSL glosses based solely on the scent alone. I couldn’t bear to wear ’em for longer than it took to find a tissue so I could wipe it off. The point I’m trying to make is that scent might make or break a product, and with these lovelies that is not an issue.

Intense Nude and Red Ego

 

When lipsticks get this lovely I start lusting for vivid pinks. I’ll even confess that I opted out of a Guerlain Rouge Automatique I’d been wanting in favour of Intense Nude. Because that’s just how fabulous the Pure Color Envy Sculpting Lipsticks are.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunny says:

    Hey girl, you chose well! I love how sculpted these make your lips look, or maybe you’re just great at applying lipsticks (I always make a mess, ha)! Fig and I don’t get along at all, so I’m glad these no longer smell like fig!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Thanks. I always just swipe ’em on straight from the bullet, but these are a treat. Even with the darker or brighter shades there’s no fuss 🙂 I can’t really say I’ve noticed that “mess” in your reviews, though 😉 I actually ordered hourglass’ lipstick in ballet based on how gorgeous it looked on you.

      I had to go try on an old EL from my stash, and I know what you mean. A fruity scent, enough to make one nauseous, just to cover up the lipstick-smell. Coverage isn’t as nice either. Now I’m thinking I need a coral as we’ll :p

  2. Holly says:

    I’m in love with those colors, but more importantly.. I’m in love with your glasses! Can you tell me the brand/style, and where you got them? Thank you so much!

    1. sirilovise says:

      As am I 😉
      Long story that only myself seem to find entertaining. A year and a half ago I was in the market for something to wear on my non-contacts days. I spent 45 mins each with two different friends in Specsavers trying on EVERYTHING in the search for frames that weren’t too square, too round, had a bit of a cat-eye feel without going too Dame Edna… But the only pair I found that I kind of liked had a colour-combo I just couldn’t get with. They even ordered in a wooden-look pair for me to try on, but that day I stepped out empty handed, and my friend suggested we’d go see the optician that I used for contacts, just to try some stuff, and dream. We were in a different price class entirely.

      What do you know, it was the first or second pair I laid eyes on, and it was OOOH! So perfect! Except for the pink sides, and the price tag. It was a pair of Marc Jacobs, and a little research showed that the optician was able to get them for me without the pink, but it would be unseen. Anyways, I was in love with the shape, so we decided to “risk” it. Suffice to say I hardly wear contacts anymore, because me and my Marc Jacobs were meant for each other.

      That said, if you’re not in the market for MJs, I try to avoid this site http://www.bonlook.com/women/eyeglasses/cat-eye, because I start craving new glasses, just for a bit of variety, and having such shipped to Norway gets a lot more expensive due to customs taxes.

  3. Holly says:

    They really are perfect for you- absolutely showstopping. I think I found the exact model too.. Style 377, does that sound right? The more I look at them, the more I feel the same as you, I MUST get my hands on them! Thank you thank you thank you, I’m due for new glasses soon myself 🙂

    1. sirilovise says:

      That’s grand, Holly! Going by the markings on the frame, that should be it. I think MJ’s got several cat-eye frames, though, so you might want to try more than just the one pair out of consideration to different face shapes. Having said that these are rather brillian as the pads that rests on the brdge of the nose are adjustable – a lot of the frames I tried that day were lacking of that feature 😉

      Good luck, and when you’ve found your frames, do pair with a bold shade of lippie and let me know how you get on 🙂

Leave a Reply

