There’s Always Room For One More Taupe

Clarins Smoky PlumOk, so after reading about Clarins Smoky Plum eyeshadow just about everywhere, and then Sara’s review over at Color Me Loud, I had to swatch it. And it was even better than the reviews. A metallic silvery taupe with just enough purple to bring out the green in my eyes. Silly me forgot to take a photo of it in the morning, when it was bright and lovely, so this one was taken in a hurry using my phone camera.

This is the first Clarins eyeshadow I’ve really liked – no, loved – in all my makeupaddicted years, as I’ve found previous eyshadows too dry, crumbly and sheer, whereas this one packs a satisfactory punch – let’s face it, it’s Clarins – applied dry, and produces a lovely foiled result when applied with a damp brush. I can even use it without primer, and only have the slightest bit of creasing. Sometimes you meet people who’ll ask you if you see the shade they’re wearing on their lids, and you just have to tell them “I’m sorry, but I don’t.”. None of that for me with this one.

I can see this shade following me into spring, and even accompanying a tan for the summer months. It works well applied wet as a liner with a sculpted “natural” eye – I still struggle to get the natural look look natural – softly smudged all over the lids for a daytime appropriate look, or full on smokey with dark liner and lots of mascara. I’m actually pretty impressed, which is becoming a rarity. And did I mention the lovely, sleek, compact and sturdy packaging? This was made for women on the go. Oh, and the pricetag isn’t bad by Norwegian standards – at least not for a high end, quality product. 

Smoky Plum

Like I mentioned earlier I’m having a bit of trouble with the selfies these days, so this was the best I could manage. I’m by the way wearing Bourjois 123 Perfect CC Cream, Clarins Instant Concealer, Opalescence Face And Blush Palette, Be Long Mascara, Smoky Plum Eyeshadow, Urban Decay’s 24/7 liner in Mushroom, summat on the brows and lips, and a drop of Clarins Instant Light Radiance Boosting Complexion Base as highlighter on top of my cheekbones. And Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion in Eden, mostly out of habit.

By the way, I’ve been considering getting a Twitter account or maybe even Instagram – yeah, I know, late to the party doesn’t cover it – but I’m not entirely sure what I’d use them for except from sharing TMI. And I got a bit of a scare when the local newspaper tracked down a friend of mine at her workplace, knowing quite a bit about her personal life as well. Not that writing a blog is any better. Anyways, pros and cons, anyone?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for the lovely mention. Looks gorgeous on you! Isn’t that even better in person? It must be my favorite single at the moment. Is it limited edition? Maybe we need a backup? Lol.
    By the way I just happened to find that there is a eye liner with the same name and color, smoky plum. I need it for my waterline! 🙂

    1. sirilovise says:

      I’ve heard mention that it’ll be part of the permanent range, though I’m not sure. Yeah, I know. It’s lovely although not as plummy as the eyeshadow. I’m not in love with the Clarins liners – they’re not as soft and longlasting as UDs 24/7 :p

      1. This is great to know. I was at the counter to check the liner out and they said it is out of stock so I was thinking to get it sight unseen. Now that you say the formula is not that nice, I am going to wait and swatch it. Xox

  2. Such a lovely colour! 🙂

    1. sirilovise says:

      Indeed. It’s hard to convey just how complex this particular taupe is. It should be seen in person 🙂

  3. Vanessa says:

    YOU CAN NEVER HAVE TOO MANY TAUPES! I haven’t tried anything from Clarins, but I’ll definitely have to check this out! (Also, you are gorgeous!!)
    As for Twitter, I generally use it for chatting with other bloggers outside of their blogs. It’s pretty handy, and I’ve made quite a few good blogger friends through chatting frequently on Twitter! But I definitely understand the issue of privacy, and yeah, the blog is definitely not any better at keeping privacy.

    1. sirilovise says:

      Aww:) Thanks! I know! They’re all different! I have umpteen different taupe nail polishes, none of them the same, and don’t get me started on the eyshadows, because that would take post of it’s own. Come to think of it I think I should dedicate a post to taupes.
      I kind of feel I’m missing out on that part of the blogging community, as I don’t have twitter, but then again, I’m very likely to become that girl who tweets an epiphany three weeks after eveybody else’s already realized, over-dramatizes everything from spilling a drop of tea on my new blouse to missing the bus or just plain thinking something s so hilarious that everybody needs to know about it – when it wasn’t and everybody doesn’t.
      Soooo, still sitting on my little creaky fence here :p
      If I had Insta, though, I’d probably be shooting pics anywhere and everywhere, putting them onlne with no thought for consequense – ok, maybe not, but it’d probably be a lot more active than my blog – and a lot less thought through.

      1. Vanessa says:

        I’d LOVE to see a post on taupes! It’s also a shade I tend to wear frequently.
        Or, if anything, you can have both a personal and blog twitter? I don’t know, I do find a lot of things hilarious, so I would probably find some of your tweets hilarious? Instagram is fun too though, but of course, each platform has its own uses/advantages and disadvantages! There doesn’t really have to be any thought behind Instagram! (I would know, heheh)

      2. sirilovise says:

        Very true 🙂

Leave a Reply

