The Clarins Opalescence Face and Blush Powder Lets Real Techniques Shine

My skin is reacting to Clinique’s 3-step programme, although it’s too soon to tell whether this is something that will get better over time, and it’s just a “clear out” of underlying stuff and will get better than ever in a few weeks, or if it’s really my skin having a bad reaction to the whole thing. I’m not entirely ready to give up on this just yet, but I’m breaking out in annoying, little pimples, the likes of which I haven’t seen in years, as well as bigger ones that hurts. Got my Effaclar Duo + from escentual.com, so will be trying that for a while in the hopes of calming things enough for me to stop picking at the things. By the way, anyone knows if this can be used as a “on the spot” treatment, or if you have to use it all over?

Anyways, that, while nothing that my makeup can’t cover up, combined with my having a hard time choosing between a bold lip or a smokey eye, feeling “meh” and “blah” once I’ve opted for either. In other words, not feeling the selfies at the present. If you really want to see it in action, Karen’s review had me sold on this one. I mean, look at those cheeks! And I suppose it speaks for versatility that I, with my wintery, pale, Scandinavian skin, happily can wear it too.

Instead, though, there’s this lovely little palette from Clarins to gawk at, and yes, it hurt to dust off the gold overlay. I’m probably the only one wishing it went through the product. And, no, it’s highly unlikely you’ll get to see a pic from me of an untouched product. There’s official photos for that. I want to get right down into the pan right away. Besides, I needed a powder and a blush that day, and this one had it covered.

clarins opalescence face and blush palette

Now, I know I’m a bit late with this post, but spring hasn’t, well, sprung hereabouts, and apparently the spring collections might take some time coming north as well. And  I wanted to form an opinion on this.

The Clarins Opalescence face and blush palette – What’s with the long names? – consists of a translucent beige powder, a peachy pink blush and a tan shade, however lots of people seem to find it hard to use these three colours separately. This is where some of my Real Techniques brushes really get to shine and prove their usefulness. I mostly use the setting brush for this one, as it’s so small in size. I just dip it in the tan shade, and apply the shade underneath my cheekbone to contour. No problem here. And the shade, while I initially thought it’d be too warm, subtly defines the cheekbone without running the risk of tigerstripes.

Next I’ll dip the same brush in the blusher shade, maybe picking up a bit of beige as well to ease trasitioning, and blend it into the tan shade, before taking the contour brush to the beige and apply all over, giving special attention to nose, forehead and any unevenness in the contouring.

Finally, I’ll take the smaller brush once more, without adding product, and just lightly dust it along my crease towards the temples to lend a bit of warmth to whatever eyemakup I’m wearing.

I’ll make sure to post, once I get my selfie back on, but if you’re in the market for a multitasker, or just something pretty, you might want to give this a try.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunny says:

    Hey girly, uh I’d say stop with the Clinique 3-step like NOW. I personally don’t believe your skin has to be worse before it gets better, and that toner just has SO MUCH ALCOHOL. Clinique has some nice stuff, but I don’t think the iconic 3-step program is one of them. As for Effaclar Duo, yes you can use it all over, but it depends on your skin type and how well your skin handles AHAs. I normally don’t use it on my cheeks, and if I overuse it on my T-zone, it could dry out a little too much. I’d say proceed with a little caution!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Well, I’m hoping to see effects using it as a local treatment. I think I see some improvement already. The reason I’m not entirely ready to let off the 3-step just yet is that I have a lot of underlying stuff that I’m hoping will surface and pass with the use of it. But I don’t think I’ll be using it for an extended time.

Leave a Reply

