Stardust

on

Aurora Borealis over Tromsø

You know, when I posted last, I’d have thought my next post would be about Bourjois new CC cream, or Guerlain’s stardust technology that they’ve applied to their reformulated meteorites, or even a little progress report on Bowyer Bell’s book on the IRA – I swear, just getting through one page takes 30 minutes! But then something happened yesterday. Just as we were leaving fo a walk with our little girl – and experiences like this is one is just one of the pleasures of having a dog, not to mention a good reminder of why we live here – I looked out, and started shouting at the BF to GET OUT! Get out! Get out! Utterly confused he did as told, while I ran to the best spot to pull out my phone cam – and yes, I actually caught something on that as well – that’s how briliant it was.

Never mind Guerlain’s stardust, pretty as that is, the sky was burning with the stuff. I ran back inside, pulled out my Samsung camera and Monkey stand and tried to get a good photo. Unsuccessfull in doing so I got Teyla’s Godfather on the phone – and I don’t know f it was pure luck and he was in close proximity to his phone or if he knows me not to call unless in a rush, because he was quick to pick up – and without dillydallying got to the point as I asked him “Which number’s supposed to go up and which down?” And inbetween the shooting and my elatedly shouting of “It works!” we shared a few comments on how annoying it was that my Irish friend hadn’t been able to see this when she was visiting, not to mention how typical it was for it to be cloudy  when we’ve got visitors we want to show this stuff off to, and when they’re gone we’ll get a spectacular show. And then the BF shouted at me to just bring the camera along. And I’m glad I did

It’s part of the story that we can see the city lights over the mountains from my parent’s, so for the northern lights to shine so bright over the city that you can capture it on a phone cam, is not an everyday occurence. I’ve done some minimal tweaking of these photos in order to get rid of some of the orange lights from the city. Some were taken from ou flat, some from the tracks going across the island, but all were taken within the city limits. If we’d been outside the city limits these really would’ve made for some amazing “first try” photos of the Aurora. That said, I’m quite pleased with the results. Hope you like.

Aurora Borealis over Tromsø

Aurora Borealis over Tromsø

Aurora Borealis over Tromsø

Aurora Borealis over Tromsø

 

Aurora Borealis over Tromsø

Aurora Borealis over Tromsø

Aurora Borealis over Tromsø

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. wow this is beautiful, I wished I could see that occurrence once… You are so lucky!

    1. sirilovise says:

      As we were walking back, me and the BF were discussing how it’s such an ordinary sight to us (except on those truly extreme nights when the sky’s filled with it) that we don’t really pay any attention to it, and we’ve mostly learned from visitors to appreciate it. I volunteer as a guide if you should visit 😉

      1. Aw, thsi is so nice of you. *hugs*
        How often do you have them? Is there a special season to see those?

      2. sirilovise says:

        Winter, as it gets too bright at nights in summer. I’d go for November-February, though there’s no guarantee, due to weather conditions and solar activity. My friend who visited over the weekend didn’t have much luck this time, but maybe the next 😉

  2. Sunny says:

    OH MY GOD NO KIDDING! Just outside of your house, too! I’m SO amazed!

    1. sirilovise says:

      At such times I remember why I haven’t moved south 😉

      1. Sunny says:

        Yeah this is a pretty good reason!

  3. Vanessa says:

    (I had to go to your ‘about’ page to hopefully find out where you live AND I WOULD HAVE NEVER EXPECTED NORWAY)
    THIS IS AN AMAZING VIEW!! Heck, I’m definitely adding ‘to see the borealis in real life’ to the bucket list.

    1. sirilovise says:

      Yup – Way up north at the gateway to the Arctic 😉 We get a lot of tourists coming to see the aurora. And the midnight sun. Preferably on the same trip – which unless you stay for an extended period of time won’t do.
      Hehe… Now I’m wonderng why Norway came as a surprise to you :p

      1. Vanessa says:

        Haha, it’s just I don’t thin I’ve ever met anyone from Norway before! Definitely learned something new about Norway today!

Leave a Reply

