Two Marvellous Serums From Estée Lauder

Estée Lauder SerumsI haven’t really given skincare any attention here on my blog, but from the kind words I got in the comments on my Braving the outside post perhaps I should. Too say that it’s only  Hourglass’ Ambient Lighting Powders and a stroke of luck with the light might be a tad nonchalant and a truth with modifications. You see, there are certain things I’ve noticed makes a difference – it’s nothing major, but I certainly notice if I omit them.Mainly, and these are two products I’ve come to love, Estée Lauders Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex II *phew* – Sorry, I have to catch my breath after that one. Henceforth to be referred to as ANR – and Idealist Even Skintone Illuminator.

I attended a course by Clinique the other week, and the guy, a fabulous fella from Sweden, asked us what we did that would ensure it would be a good day. I whispered to the girl beside me that it wasn’t probably allowed to say so there, but the most important thing isn’t what I do that morning but what I do to my skin the evening before. How did I make that connection? A good day and my skincare routine before bedtime? Well, let’s face it, a good skin-day is a lot better than the days your skin misbehaves, right? And this is where I told her the ANR was part of that.

It’s supposed to help skin work more efficiently during the night, with restituation, recovery and even the cleansing processes during the night, all this to help you look like you’ve had your eight hours of beauty sleep even though you only had five. Too good to be true? I don’t know but it’s definetely made a difference on my skin. Breakouts are less severe, and my skin has that well-rested plump look most days. I just look a little less washed-out with this one.

It can also be used for daytime, as a serum under your moisturizer, or applied lightly during the day atop your foundation for a little perk-me-up. Can probably be mixed in your foundation as well and mixed wth powder blush to create a liquid or cream formula, but I haven’t tried those.

The Idealist serum is marketed as an illuminating product, and while I don’t know if it does anything much deep down, it’s sure lovely underneath my moisturizer, creating the subtlest glow, diffusing the appearance of pores and dryness lines. Giving the impression of a more even skin.

Have you tried any of these?

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Advanced Night Repair is a longtime favourite of mine; I was nervous when they reformulated it but thankfully I actually prefer the new one!

    1. sirilovise says:

      It’s always scary when they take something that works and say they’re going to fix it. It was a definite repurchase, though, when my 30 ml was through – 50ml this time 🙂

  2. Brittney says:

    Out of curiosity, have you tried the Bare Minerals night serum? I’m trying to decide between BM and EL and which one I should invest in.

    Brittney

    Another Beautiful Thing

    1. sirilovise says:

      I haven’t tried anything from the BM skincare line, and only a few of their mu products. But I do love my ANR – enough to repurchase a big bottle – and the reformulated version has really made a difference on my skin. I don’t know exactly what you’re after in your serum, but, and here I have to correct myself, the ANR is rich in hyaluronic acid which binds moisture to skin. It’s also based on more than 30 years of research, from a brand that strives to be innovative. The lady herself said to create, don’t copy.
      Otherwise they seem very similar – although we don’t carry the line where I work so I can’t be sure. In the end, though, we’ve all got to find the combo of products that’s the best for our individual needs – which is done by trying and failing – unfortunately :p hope that helps:)

  3. Used them both in the past and they are wonderful, which reminds me to check out the new ANR. Loved how the old one kept my skin texture smooth.

    1. sirilovise says:

      While I never tried the old one, I love the new one. It’s supposed to be more efficient at intuitively knowing when your skin works harder at restituating and cleansing itself, and aid in the process. Or something like that :p all I know is that it makes a difference 😉 Looking forward to reading your take on it 🙂

  4. Vanessa says:

    I haven’t tried out any of these, but this post is a coincidence since I was browsing to try my first face serum the other day. Prices of serums make me cringe, but after doing some hefty research and finding this post on your blog, it’s probably a sign that I need to invest in Estee’s ANR!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Must be the universe telling you to give it a go 😉 But yeah, serums are costly stuff, but often that is due to the more concentrated ingredients. Also they work deeper in the skin – the smaller molecules allows ’em to penetrate deeper, than creams, giving you more effect for your hard-earned plata 😉

  5. Coco says:

    I would obviously need to use it consistently to form an option, but I did get a sample of the Advanced Night Repair and I really liked it x

    1. sirilovise says:

      I was actually skeptical at first, and didn’t really see much of a difference until after a while, when i noticed that breakouts were less red and irritated, and then after a night of very poor sleep that left me with less signs of fatigue than I had normally expereienced, I was hooked. Also it’s a lovely feeling, swiping or patting it on during the day. Very refreshing 🙂

  6. Sunny says:

    Oh ANR is definitely something I’m going to repurchase when I run out! In an interesting way, it has become something I don’t want to do without. I have tried a deluxe sample of Idealist too, but I am not big on silicone, so even though the result looks pretty impressive, it’s not really something for me 😉

  7. i did use them! love the texture and the smell!
    Irene
    http://www.thedailylace.com

  8. really want to try the idealist one!

    from helen at thelovecatsinc.com

    ps. there’s a £150 high-end skincare giveaway on my blog here, if you fancy entering!

    1. sirilovise says:

      I feel like Lancomes Dreamtone could mostly be based on this one. Love the glow it gives me 🙂 By the way, lovely blog you’ve got there;)

Leave a Reply

