Braving the outside

20140129-123921.jpg
Still feeling crappy from that blasted cold. Had to go in to town today to get my glasses fixed – they got hit by a stray ball the other day, and I couldn’t postpone it any longer because using my old glasses weren’t exactly improving my headache. Anyways, I didn’t feel like showing the world my sick-face, all grey and dull, so I set to with a few quick-fix glow-getters.
After cleansing I applied a pump of Esteé Lauders Idealist serum berøre moisturizing. Then a dollop of Cliniques universal primer before slapping on a bit of bb cream – currently using a tube of Lauders Daywear BB. I know it already seems like many steps, and the pling off bb creams is enabling skipping a few, but for me, bb cream alone just won’t do.

A drop of Clarins’ Instant Concealer keeps the shadows away, while YSL Touche Eclat highlights the high points – cheekbones, brows, bridge of the nose, cupids’ bow…

Next up I applied Bourjois’ cream blush in 02 Healthy Glow – because that’s just what I’m trykket to fake here, and also that peachy colour tend to have a more brightening effect than true pinks – applied with my Urban Decay optical blurring blush.

My new fave in the quest for a more awake face is Diors’ Fusion Mono Matte cream shadow in Songe – it’s just the right shade of creamy beige to create a “my lids but better” result. I prefer to use my fingers to smooth it onto lids. Quick and easy.

A dusting of illuminating powder to follow. I like using a combo of Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders, starting with diffused in the middle of my face, dim on my chin, a bit of radiant on cheeks and forehead and incandecent to further highlight cheekbones and brow.

I film in my brows using a refillable pencil from Sensai, and coat my lashes in Clarins’ Be Long Mascara. It’s an eye-opener, really, and deserving of a review, but all in due time – or mañana, mañana as we like to say. A bit of pawpaw ointment to soothe parched lips makes the finishing step.

This all might have taken ten minutes – less if I’d been in a hurry – with mascara and brows taking the longest – resulting in a slightly fresher face than the one with which I entered the bathroom.

20140129-131356.jpg

20140129-131422.jpg

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Liv Elin says:

    du får inga sympati når du ser så bra ut syk 🙂 æ så egentli bare det treet…det va smykketreet sitt det!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Hehehe… All in the makeup – and a few secret potions and lotions 😉 Du sku sett korsn æ så ut før – eller ikke :p

      Æ burde kanskje ta et ordentlig bilde av det og vise frem. Æ hadde ei lita opprydding for nån uke sia og kvitta mæ me en del dingeldangel som aldri vart brukt, eller va brukt så mye at det va blitt misfarga. Treet e forøvrig håndlagd av en kunstnerisk venn som så at æ hadde behov for litt fleire grener enn det et kommersielt tre tilbyr.

      1. Liv Elin says:

        D e skikkeli fint å ser megapraktisk ut…æ har tidligere sagt at alle smykketrean som kjøpes kommer tel å oversvømme bruktmarkedan om nån år, førr de fleste lage barea rot…men d der va skikkeli smart! My compliments to the artist 🙂

  2. RaraGiggles says:

    Just found your blog on makeupmonster’s Beauty Blogging Club! Love your blog, so chic & gorgeous!!

    1. sirilovise says:

      I love the initiative of that girl, Found yours as well 😉 Thanks so much. I recently changed my layout to match the brighter days we’re having, now we’e on the right side of the solstice :p

  3. Millie says:

    Even when you’re ill you look beautiful, lovely look xx
    http://www.healthyyetbeautiful.blogspot.co.uk

    1. sirilovise says:

      Thanks:) It’s all down to good skincare and makeup, and litres of tea :p

  4. Vanessa says:

    Wonderful post…I like your blog.^^
    Maybe follow each other on bloglovin?
    Let me know follow you then back.
    Lovely greets Nessa

  5. You look amazing here! I never look that good when I have a cold! Fabulous blog. 🙂

    1. sirilovise says:

      Thank you 🙂 Like I said before, a lot of it’s downn to the makeup. The Hourglass powders works magic;)

  6. Joice says:

    Hi dear, I adore your blog and love the layout as well, I hope we can follow each other, if you decided to follow me on BLOGLOVIN, please let me know so I can follow you back. xoxo

    http://www.love-joice.com

    1. sirilovise says:

      Hi;) Thanks so much. Got you on bloglovin. You take great pictures 🙂

  7. That Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette looks amazing, I want! I have one of the single powders in Dim Light and I love it, I don’t go a day without wearing it..! Would also love to try the Clarins concealer, I love a good brightening concealer 🙂 x

    Rachael | http://www.overdosedemaquillage.com

    1. sirilovise says:

      I love using diffused in the middle of my face to brighten and tone down redness, but in my experience the true line-eraser is dim. And radiant gives the perfect, natural, warm glow to light skintones. I did a review here https://scribblewithliner.wordpress.com/2013/11/05/pre-christmas-pressy-for-meself/, although I thnk you might want to have a look at etheral or mood.
      It’s really a good one – we’ve been sold out of shades 01 and 02 for months :p

  8. Your face looks so bright & glowy! (In a nice healthy way!) I really want to try the Hourglass Powders x

    1. sirilovise says:

      Thanks:) You should. They’re great. I was in London last summer, and wanted to check out dim light at a NK Space, but it was sold out. The SA ,a nice fella who actually has a friend hereabouts, applied a light dusting of it to my cheekbones, just so I could try it, and I immediately saw the brightening effect, not to mention the way it erased the drynesslines I had.

      1. RaraGiggles says:

        I actually cannot wait to try the Hourglass
        Blushes!! 🙂

      2. sirilovise says:

        Me neither! Have you seen Christine’s (temptalia) swatches? I just can’t decide which I need :p

  9. Such a beautiful look, your skin is flawless! Gorgeous x

    1. sirilovise says:

      Aww! Thanks so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

