The Battle of the Light-diffusing Powders – Guerlain vs. Hourglass

This has been a long time coming. Somehow I found myself the owner of more light-diffusing poders than I can imagine using in two years. And I still want more! For now, though, I’ll have to listen to that annoying voice of reason and make do with those I’ve got, and believe me when I say I don’t need another.

You heard me right. I fell in love with Hourglass’s Ambient Powders last spring. Finely milled, gorgeous, albeit in a cheap-feeling packaging, these powders do their part when it comes to blurring lines and giving complexion a softer appearance. Unfortunately it broke, and before I could acquire a new one, I’d fallen in love with Guerlain’s compact Meteorites – not the expensive hand-decorated one. It wasn’t enough, though, and I got meself a new one, along with the palette that was released just before Christmas, meaning I had in my possession all three of the shades I had wanted to try – Radiant, Diffused and Dim, along with the most subtle highlighting powder I’d ever seen. None of them caking or appearing chalky. I was quite content with my pre-Christmas present for meself.

Then Crazy Meteorites arrived in store. I wasn’t really interested, but one day I tried it, just n order to touch up my makeup, but it was gorgeous, like the lighting crew of The Hobbit had dropped by to shine a little light on me the way they did on Cate Blanchett as Galadriel. Ok, so I might be exaggerating, but it was lovely, and the effect subtly different from my Ambient Lighting Powders, and I got a new blush to boot.

You see, I was very skeptical of these Meteorites with their pearls of bright pink, but as it turned out, they were very subtle on my skin and for the most part, for some obscure reason tend to settle on the bottom of the box, meaning that I can pick out those specific pearls to use as a subtle blush as well.

Guerlain
Crazy Meteorites
Hourglass
Ambient Lighting Palette

It’s not vey apparent – probably due to the flash and the different light conditions (shame on me) – but the Guerlain powder is pinker in tone whereas the Hourglass’ are slightly more golden. Also, look how pretty the highlighter is! I felt like a Hollywood star wearing that look, with the dewy cheeks – never been able to achieve that with any other product.

Guerlain
Crazy Meteorites
Ambent Lighting
Ambient Lighting Palette

I’ve been using these powders with my Real Techniques brushes, my Urban Decay Optical Blurring brush, as well as a duo-fibre stipling brush as a finishing powder, all with good results. However for many it’ll be better to use these in a different manner, as I myself have dry skin, and I can’t speak for oilier types.

I don’t know if this post has been any help to those of yous still on the fence, thinking whether to buy one or the other. Both offerings are very good at what they do, although I do find the Meteorites to be slightly more sparkly, however that’s hardly noticable, and whichever you prefer they’re all good for parties as well as everyday use. The Meteorites might have a slight advantage for the under-eye area, though, due to the pink acting as a brightener. And in either incarnaton they are a classic product that you won’t regret having in your collection.

Just in case you didn’t find this post useful, heres a photo of Teyla – just because looking a t dogs seem to make people happy. Enjoy your weekend!

Alaskan husky

7 Comments Add yours

  1. girlychristina says:

    Thanks for doing a review on these products as I’ve been wanting to try both myself! I think you look beautiful and absolutely stunning in both products, however your skin looks more dewy with the Hourglass. =) I think Hourglass has a slight advantage! Anywho, Hi, Teyla!! ❤ hehe. Have a great day!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Thanks:) You know, you’re spot on! It’s probably due to incandecent light. I know a lot of people like to use the Hourglass powders as highlighters, but for me, the one’s I’ve got anyways, are mostly brightening settingpowders, the exception being that particular shade which is my all-time fave highlighter.
      The Hourglass palette might be a better option for you as well, taking skintone into consideration. I can definetely see you wearing dim underneath the eyes and in the middle of your face, and readiant around the contours, and obviously, incandecent on the hight points. However, judging by the various responses out there, both meteorites – which are beng re-released with a new and improved formula – and the ambient lighting powders are “try before you buy”. I hope to see a post if you do 😉

      1. girlychristina says:

        Yes, I would love to try both of them out as they both look really pretty on you =) Thank you for your expertise! =)

  2. Anne says:

    I like Teyla….. 😉

    1. sirilovise says:

      Me too 😉 We’re curently lounging on the sofa considering wether or not to go for a little run – that is to say, I’m considering that, she’s pondering why on earth I’m typing when I should be pampering her.

  3. They both look lovely on you! I am still dithering over to get one of the Hourglass ones – I am leaning towards Dim Light xo

    1. sirilovise says:

      I took my time considering which of the powders to get first as there’s no Hourglass counters around here and ended up getting diffused, but I knew back in June when I went to London that I needed dim light too. It did away with my dryness lines in a brushstroke. Anyways, as you don’t seem to have any skintone issues you need to correct, judging by your review of Bourjois’ cc cream – looks amazing – , I think Dim might be a good choice for you 😉

Leave a Reply

