Pre-Christmas Pressy For Meself.

Hourglass Ambient LightingIt’s almost that time of the year when panicked shoppers take to the streets, despereately asking SAs for advice on what to get their third cousin by marriage twice removed for Christmas. The candy started arriving in stores weeks ago, and long before that I started planning so that

1) I would be able to focus on giving advice, rather than panick myself that I didn’t get anything for this friend or that aunt.

2) Spread the expenses over a longer period of time rather than getting ’em all at once.

3) Sometimes you’ll see something and it’s perfect for someone.

Now, you all know the rules. for every second or third pressy for someone else, you deserve a lil’ treat for yourself. One of the treats I’ve gotten for myself – that I absolutely couldn’t resist and that I knew nobody else would be getting me for Christmas – is the new Hourglass Ambient Lighing Palette, as well as a new poder in Diffused light. I was horrified to see the one I had, crushed, and so immediately decided to get a new one at first chance for when it’s completely destroyed. Thanks to a friend currently based in London acquiring these two beauties became possible, and I have here in my hand enough powder to keep me glowing well into spring.

There isn’t much I can say about this palette that hasn’t already been said. It comes with a small vial of the Hourglass Mineral Veil, and while not being very expereinced when it comes to face primers, I have tried a few, and this is is quickly becoming a favourite that I might consider buying when the bottle of Guerlain’s L’Or has arrived and been emptied – so in the distant future sometime. To me it feels slicker than the Guerlain one, which feels more watery, it’s thinner than Smashbox’s original, and Clinique’s universal primer feels grainier and not as smooth. And a very small drop gets you a long way.

Hourglass Ambient LightingThe palette itself contains three shades of Ambient Lighting Powders, Two of which I’ve been wanting to try since the original release, and one limited edition powder. During my visit to London I dropped by a Space NK and while sold out at the time, I still had the SA apply some of the Dim Light powder to my face. He applied it to my cheekbones, and my face immediately looked brightened, it lifted my cheekbones and evened out the fine lines I get from dryness in my skin. Two brushstrokes litterally brightened my whole face! So yes, I was excited to get this.

The other permanent shade is Radiant light. I wanted to try this out for a bronzer, and didn’t really think I’d be able to use this untill sometime next year. Thing is, though, the shades are so subtle, I just use it around the contours of my face as well as on cheeks to add warmth, and it doesn’t come close to the bronzed look of summer.

Finally, Incandesent light is LE, and due to the finemilled texture it becomes the most subtle highlighter ever. It’s shimmery, but never unnatural. I know Sensai has a highlighting powder that might be somewhat similar, but the texture, to me, feels drier and cakey.

SAMSUNG CSCLike I said, I don’t know what to say that others haven’t said already. It’s a gorgeous palette of loveliness. I do wish, at the price, that it came with some sort of brush or at the very least a pouch to add a feeling of luxury – but I guess that’s just me, and anyways it’s the contents that matters. If you’ve been wanting to try the Ambient lighting powders, ths is a great way to sample them, albeit more costly than getting one of the permanent ones.

They did inspire me to practice my contouring, though.

We can’t all be such natural beauties as my babygirl, here, I suppose. Alaskan Husky

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Have this on my Christmas wishlist, such a beautiful powder. Looks lovely on you and your puppy is sooo cute! xo

    http://www.yourbeauty.ie

    1. sirilovise says:

      I’ve used this palette every day. It’s great! In spite of tricks and pranks she pulls, and the bedroom currently smelling of The Body Shop’s mango scented body oil, which she emptied on the mattress during the weekend, she’s really our little baby girl. People even think I’m talking of a two-legged child when I mention her :p

  2. Sunny says:

    I’m glad to hear Radiant Light isn’t too dark for you! I can use it as an all-over finishing power to add a very subtle warmth, but I doubt anyone but myself can spot the difference. Also, YOUR PUPPY!!! She looks like my black-and-white kitteh, Muffin 🙂

    1. sirilovise says:

      Yeah, it’s great for warming up the complexion – especially now that even the daylight’s got a blue cast to it.

  3. That palette looks great on you! So sculpted! Work it girl

    1. sirilovise says:

      Thanks a lot. Couldn’t have done it without my trusty UD eyeshadow Tease. Thus far the best thing I’ve found for contouring:)

  4. I’m seeing these EVERYWHERE. Really think it is one of the prettiest make up items out there. Must be gorgeous in the real light!!

    1. sirilovise says:

      It’s well worth it, despite the small (by comparison) pans. Although, another pretty item to add to your wishlist might be Guerlain’s Crazy pearls. I’ll have to do some comparison pics, once I’m feeling better, but do believe we have a strong contender to take into consideration this Christmas. Tbh, I wasn’t even going to get ’em seeing as I’ve got the Hourglass palette, but then I tried them at work, and… The rest is history;)

Leave a Reply

