A Few Of My Favourite Things Guerlain

on

Guerlain Fall 2013I’ve got a new addiction these days, or I should say, several. The first being the new foundation from Guerlain, Tenue de Perfection – I love the way it feels, or perhaps I should say hardly feels at all, on my skin. It blends easily to give me an even skintone and just the right amount of coverage for my liking. I didn’t really like wearing foundation much, but this one’s had me converted from my BB and CC creams as well as mineral powder foundation and even my Naked Skin by Urban Decay.

Guerlain Madame BatifolePart of the technology behnd this consists of three oils, one to melt into the skin, one to even skintone and one to make it all the longlasting wonder that this one is. Also, they’ve done something something to the pigments to keep the colour from oxidizing when applied, and added silica to keep you shine free throughout the day.

My having dry skin, I think part of what makes this really work for me is the oils, as it never winds up looking patchy or caked, nor grainy – I’ve had that problem with some. Also, when it’ sets it stays true to colour, just as promised, and feels lightweight.

Guerlain Tenue de PerfectionIn the first picture I’ve applied the foundation using Real Techniques foundation brush from The Core Collection, whereas for the second I achieved a lighter coverage buffing it in using my Urban Decay Optical Blurring Brush. Needless to say, the latter is a way more effective manner of application, however both provided satisfactory results.

My second favourite is the Two Parisian duo, from the brands latest lineup of eyeshadows. Consisting of a matte-yet-satin black and a light pink glitter shade, it’s very versatile and wearable. You’ll achieve a similar effect using a black liner and UD’s Moondust in Space Cowboy, but – dare I say it – I’ve experienced more fallout with the Moondusts than I have with the glitters of this collection. As you can see, the glitters doesn’t show up much in photographs, but it’s quite nice in person, and not at all warranted – in my opinion – discoballstatus.

Two Parisian is, by the way, the palette used for the Madame Batifole look from their fall collection – which leads me to my final, current obsession that is the Madame Rougit blush from previous posts. I’ve already professed my love for the 2 Ecrin Couleurs and the Madame Rougit, but I felt it was apropriate to include them along with the Madame Batifole lipstick which is a gorgeous bright plum or darkened fuchsia, depending on the lighting.

And finally I had to include a photograph of Teyla posing for the camera. Guerlain or not, she’s the most favourite of all! If you’ve seen Leap Year, this is Teyla impersonating Amy Adams’ character practising her surprised face “Who? Me?”alaskan husky

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lorraine Haigney says:

    You look just like an ex-boss of mine in the first picture, nearly jumped out of my seat! I’ve been eyeing up that blusher for what feels like forever, it’s so gorgeous in the pan.

    1. sirilovise says:

      Hahaha! I seem to have one of those faces. I’ve been going through several courses at work, a job I started in July, and we’ve also had several brand representatives visiting the store, and most of them have been certain they’ve met me previously.
      You could argue that it’s an investment. I find it matches most of my lipsticks. Can’t really say I feel the need for others and it’s an LE piece 😉 And it lasts forever – been using it almost every day.and the pattern’s still visible. And then there’s Christmas just around the corner, and you’ll be needing a subtle flush for all those parties. And finally, you’ve probably deserved a treat for something or other;)

  2. Phoebe says:

    The finish looks really pretty on you! I’m definitely going to try it!

Leave a Reply

