Rereading the Book of Shadows vol. IV

Book of Shadows IVTwo years ago I went to Ireland for the first time – after 15-20 years of wanting to do so. I went there with a list of stuff I had to do; The Guinness Storehouse, The Jameson, The National Leprechaun Museum, The Book of Kells and Urban Decay’s Book of Shadows – A lovely palette containing both neutrals and brights, as well as a few inspiring looks and my fave liquid eyeliner since – the 24/7 waterproof liner.

Due to circumstances – UDs’ ever continous release of absolutely GORGEOUS palettes this wee book hasn’t been getting much love lately. That is until I came across this post by the beautiful Keiko Lynn, inspiring me to reread my own little BoS – and then the Smoked palette lookbook. I find there are quite a few things I’ve left undone, saving ’em for some special occasion or other that never happened.

It might not have come across yet, but ever since I mastered the smokey eye, it’s been a fave look of mine, and I have several to show yous as we transition into the colder, darker months. Here’s a look I did based on UD’s own Smoked Out look, created for the Book of Shadows vol. IV palette, exchanging the liquid liner for a smudged, soft pencil liner – UD’s 24/7 in Zero. Also, as I feel blusher is an absolute must I’ve dusted on a bit of Dior’s #849 from their newly released line of blusher – it’s the perfect mix of blusher and bronzer to make your face come alive with a healthy glow. And while I’m not really into the whole nude lip – I could write a post on that particular subject alone – I do love the whole lipstick lineup from the Mystic Metallics collection, ranging from a muted burgundy to the most perfect nudes ever. Coming from me, that’s high praise, and I’m currently wearing #369 Mystic. If you’re a nude-lip-lover – unlike meself – or simply in need of a lil’ summat to pair with your smokey eyes this fall, Dior’s fall collection’s the way to go.

But I digress. Here’s the look for yous, right out of the Urban Decay website, and enjoy your Monday.

Urban Decay Smoked Out

Urban Decay Smoked Out

4 Comments Add yours

  1. beautylashes says:

    Lovely eye makeup!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Thanks. I never really appreciated the looks, watching UD’s own How-to videos, think it might have had something to do with their use of the liquid liner. Now, however, I’m thinking Wende Zomnir and the rest of the folks at UD might just have perfected the smokey eye. Funny, considering how they started out being a lips and nails type of brand.

  2. That is a really lovely look on you – you can’t beat the Urban Decay shadows!

    1. sirilovise says:

      Thanks:) I know! And just when you thought they couldn’t get any better, UD went and reformulated the whole thing – making it even better. I’ll freely admit it; I’m an addict!

Leave a Reply

