Now I Only Want To Melt The Moondust In Your Eyes.

Urban Decay Moondust
L-R: Space Cowboy, Zodiac, DIamond Dog.

I’m a bit late to the party, I know, but I wanted to show yous Urban Decay’s Moondust.

From the Urban Decay website:

You’ve never seen a sparkly shadow this sophisticated. Moondust is dazzlingly sparkly but with a super refined, incredibly sophisticated feel (and not a single speck of chunky glitter). Microfine bits of iridescent sparkle collide with intense, dreamy hues and lush, 3-D metallics—for an effect that’s out of this world. New technology gives Moondust an amazing effect not found in traditional pressed-powder shadows. It feels like a cream but goes on like a powder to create a smooth, brilliantly reflective look. The result? Sexy, twinkling sparkle with a ton of depth and movement. (And a LOT of questions about what you’re wearing!) We recommend applying Moondust with your fingers. For extra intense color payout, try it wet.

Let me just say, Yes! The sparkle is nice. However. It gets all over, so keep a roll of tape handy upon applying, and keep away from your brushes.

Other than that, well… The glitter is smaller than the glitters of Midnight Cowboy and the likes from the same brand, and adheres better to where it is applied, and the fall-out doesn’t look like you’re wearing glitter from last night’s disco party. That being said, it’s not creamy. It’s more like touching a layer of dried clay on the banks of the small stream where you used to play as a child. The sun reflecting on the running water, nut unlike the way the Moondusts shimmer and shifts on your lids.

It is a wise woman as heeds the creators’ advice and applies this using her fingers, however, I find there is little difference between applying these wet or dry, with slightly more precise application and minimal immediate fall out when used wet. I might try to use it with another mixing agent later, though.

L-R: Space Cowboy, Zodiac, Diamond Dog
L-R: Space Cowboy applied wet/dry, Zodiac applied dry/wet, Diamond Dog applied dry/wet

I swatched these wet and dry, applying two layers for the wet swatch in order to get a mostly opaque swatch.

Space Cowboy is a golden beige with silver sparkle, like sunlight on the water. It’s the least pigmented of the whole range, I think, from my swatching the shades at House of Fraser, however that makes it great for a hurried all-over look, or patting on lightly atop another shade in the middle of the lid.

Diamond Dog is a shimmery, not-quite-metallic brown with silver sparkle. Makes a lovely daytime cateye. Let me know in comments if you want pictures!

I find Zodiac is a bit more complex, and thus harder to describe. It’s a dusty black with an overlay of forest green microglitter that can be built to a deep forest green, bridging on black with green and silver sparkles.

I really like all three of the shades I’ve got, or I wouldn’t have got them. The glitters are discrete enough for daytime wear, although unless I’m layering it with a black liner I’ll be saving Zodiac for a nighttime smokey eye. I’d really like to have Glitterrock in my collection too, however, given that I find this range to be less saturated I couldn’t justify parting with the money for a shade I wasn’t entirely sure I would find myself reaching for as often as I have with these.

How is everyone feeling towards daytime glitters? Any fellow magpies out there?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Amria says:

    Loving the Zodiac! 😀

    1. sirilovise says:

      I like it a lot, so it’s no surprise when the SA told me she reckoned it was the bestselling of the lot. For now I like to use it on top of a black liner, but it’s one of the things I’m looking forward to with the end of summer, darker evenings more suitable for a more intense eyemakeup. The other things are selected items from Kappahl’s fall collection, there will be some nice sweaters along with VERY pretty blouses, and the Guerlain and Dior looks for fall, which will match said items perfectly. I’d love to see the Smashbox fall collection released here as well, as that includes some very nice palettes as well.On the other hand, maybe they shouldn’t. I couldn’t afford all this beauty. As usual, I digress :p

      1. Amria says:

        Haha, I get you, I’d spend all the money I don’t have on such things! 😀

  2. Wow those are seriously amazing I am so glad you led me to this review! I have got to get my hands on at least one of those at some point and I agree Zodiac looks so beautiful.

  3. sirilovise says:

    Maria, I’m finding it very hard these days, as I’m currently working at a cosmetics store, to not spend all the money of my next paycheck already. And the news are still a month off.
    Tori, they are the prettiest glittershadows I’ve seen to date! Space Cowboy’s not as pigmented as the rest so can quite easily be layered to lend a bit of glitter to other shades, so I’d say that and Zodiac will make good additions to your collection 😉

Leave a Reply

