Marvelous Moxie sure is a Smooth Talker.

At least if you go by my lips. I know I haven’t been producing too many makeup-related posts since I started this blog, but allow me to quote a woman whose beauty keeps inspiring others in spite of her own demise two decades ago.

The beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure that she carries, or the way she combs her hair. The beauty of a woman is seen in her eyes, because that is the doorway to her heart, the place where love resides. True beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul. It’s the caring that she lovingly gives, the passion that she shows & the beauty of a woman only grows with passing years.

Some time ago I went to a Bare Minerals event at a local spa, and amongst the products I got an introduction to was the Marvelous Moxie. Yes, things happen slowly here, and unless something has happened recently, we’re still waiting to see the release of the line’s lipsticks and lipliners. I tried one on at the event, but it reminded me too much of Urban Decay’s Lip Junkies, given the minty scent. So instead I got meself a Pretty Amazing lipcolour in Ambition.

Anyways, they had put up a kissing wall, with the prize being a lip product from the Bare Minerals sortiment of the winners choosing. A few days later I recieved a call during my lunchbreak, to let me know that they’d decided my kiss was the prettiest. YAY!

I thought I wanted something that would pop more, so the SA applied the coral shade Party Starter from the Marvelous Moxie line, and I originally wanted that one, although I would’ve preffered something slightly more pigmented. Then I remembered that in the reviews I’d seen, Smooth Talker had looked very nice. So I had to try it. Forget about pop. I fell in love straight away with the gold shimmer overlaying the my lips but better pink.

No, I didn’t intend to get the Moxie glosses initially, but in the end, as I got it for free, that’s what I decided upon.

It wasn’t ’till later that I remembered my UD Lip Junkie in Naked. So I had to compare. And then I remembered my Rouge G lipstick in Georgia. Here are some swatches for yous.

L-R: Georgia, Smooth Talker, Naked
L-R: Georgia, Smooth Talker, Naked
Naked
Naked
Rouge G Georgia
Rouge G Georgia
Marvelous Moxie Smooth Talker
Marvelous Moxie Smooth Talker

As you can see from the swatches, obviously, Georgia is pinker and opaque. But then it’s a lipstick, so that’s to be expected. From the swatch on my hand, though, you can see that it’s quite similar to the other two in colour.

The Lip Junkie and Marvelous Moxie is very similar, although I find Smooth Talker to be slighlty more pigmented than UD Naked. Also, Smooth Talker’s got a fine milled gold shimmer, lending it a wam sheen when applied to lips, whereas Naked is slightly cooler and appears translucent.

Both glosses have cooling and plumping properties, and it was not until recently I attributed this to the mint in both, fresh peppermint in Smooth Talker, sweet mint in Naked. However, the BF commented upon a stinging, tingling sensation after he’d kissed me while I was wearing Smooth Talker, and I’ve become more aware of it since, leading me to think the Moxie’s include another plumping agent as well.

I do like how the shade makes my lips more even-toned, and the golden sheen overlaying it.

Both glosses feel moisturizing, however, the Moxie also “plumps” the pores of my upper lip, making them appear reminiscent of the small blisters that announces a big cold sore. This only happens after approximately four-five hours of wear, but considering my paranoia of my skin reacting to something and developing a cold sore this means I can’t use it too often for an extended time of wear.

In the end, though, I always go back to my beloved Pawpaw.

Anybody out there as has tried the Marvelous Moxies and experienced a similar reaction to mine?

By the way, the glitter on my lids is courtesy of Urban Decay’s Moondust eyeshadows. The sparkles!

Leave a Reply

