That inspirational glow

on

We’ve still got snow, although the weather is heating up, and today it’s raining away. I’ve been feeling a lot like wearing “glowing”, fresh-faced looks of late, and with the arrival of Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in diffused light it was due time to actually do something. But what?

olga-kurylenko-1-h724So I went through three weeks of posts over at glamour.com, looking for inspiration, and Lo! and behold! It came to me in the shape of Olga Kurylenko. I do feel she looks somewhat washed out here, probably from the muted lips and lack of understated blush, and obviously, we’ve got very different features. I wanted something fresher, with slightly more definition of my eyes. I personally feel they are my best features, along with my cheekbones and lips (whenever I remember to smile) so I put a bit more focus upon the eyes, adding a slight flick, and no foundation. Instead, I opted for my regular Naked Skin BB cream by Urban Decay. Let me walk you through it.

As usual, I started out with a clean, moisturised face, and UDPP in Eden. I used two palettes for SAMSUNG CSCthe eyes, UD’s Naked and Naked Basics. I applied Sin on the movng lid, blending it into Walk of Shame that I applied from crease to brows. I didn’t want full-on, in your face, discoball shimmer, just some glow, and so I went with Buck in the crease to deepen, and then using Naked to blend and even out any lines.

SAMSUNG CSCUsing a small brush I applied Smog to the outer 1/3, and blended it with Half Baked, which I applied all along the lower lashline. At the inner corners I applied Virgin to highlight.

Using an angled brush and Smog I lined the upper lashline before lining eyes further using UD’s 24/7 Glide-on Pencil in Rockstar, SAMSUNG CSCadding a flick at the outer corners. Not entirely pleased I took the same angled brush to the liner, evening out any gaps and adding some more of the bronze shimmer to the dark purple of Rockstar.

SAMSUNG CSCI then applied mascara, my fave Maxi Lash by Guerlain, BB cream and UD’s Baked Bronzer in Baked to the edges of my face as well as my cheekbones. I filled in my brows using Naked2 and Faint Clarins Instant Light Perfector underneath my eyes and topped it all with Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in diffused light. I applied Clarins Instant Light Lip Perfector, before deciding it was too glossy and opted for Guerlain Rouge G in Georgia instead.

What d’you reckon? Diffused light getting the job right?SAMSUNG CSCSAMSUNG CSC

Leave a Reply

