Lush Lash Mascara

This is just a temporary review, in my experience, impressions of mascaras can improve or worsen within a fortnight, but I grew impatient. Today I finally opened my Urban Decay Lush Lash Mascara. Luuuuve the shiny, purple packaging, the brush was a lot easier to use than expected, and on the whole it’s cheaper than my HG Maxi Lash by Guerlain.

I’m no fan of plastic wands, but this hourglass-shaped brush has shorter bristles than I’m used to and for once I’m not poking myself in the eyes with it. Unfortunately, they don’t do much more than covering my lashes in black goo. It separates well, and maybe there’s a slight lengthening of the lashes, but even after three applications i still don’t get the luscious effect that I do from Maxi Lash. And I do love me a bit of drama. For my lashes, that is.

I’m going to volleyball practice later, and curious to see how this one holds up. If you like a natural look, this might be for you, personally, and I might still change my mind about this… I have a discount code that might just go to stocking up on Maxi Lash at my local cosmetics counter.

Good thing thus far, though, aside from all the good things it’s supposed to do for your lashes, is that you can apply and reapply quite a few layers without clumping, and my lashes still feels softer than with my Maxi Lash. Holy Grail for me? I think not, but it may still surprise me. We’ll see, oh yes. We shall see.

Update: While it survived volleyball with minimal fall-out, it’s not tear proof, and definetely won’t survive running to the bus in the rain. Or the snow for that matter. Came off in the shower without the need for remover and no residue, So if like me, you live someplace where the weather’s fickle, and you’d consider going to work by boat rather than car or bus if it weren’t for the risk of getting lost in a blizzard… This goo’s simply not for you. Could be good somewhere sunny, though, like Ireland for instance. Maybe that’s why we haven’t got any UD counters here.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I am currently looking for a good mascara…is there one that you would recommend? I was definitely looking into this one but maybe there is another one that you could suggest

    1. sirilovise says:

      If you like a natural look, this one seems definetely worth checking out. Still a couple of hours ’till my extreme test (volleyball practice), so I’ll update when I’ve seen how it holds up through that. I’ll be using this for a while longer as one day is little time for really testing a mascara, but you might want to check out Guerlain’s Maxi Lash. I’ve been using it for about a month and I’m thus far very happy with it. Scribbled down some of my thoughts on it here: https://scribblewithliner.wordpress.com/2013/03/01/guerlain-has-created-a-magic-wand/

Leave a Reply

