Guerlain has created a magic wand.

 If there’s one thing every makeup-wearing lass longs for, it must be The Holy Grail of Mascaras. The One that makes your eyes look wider and brighter, your lashes fuller and softer, and long, and curly. And it doesn’t take alot of wiping away excess product, it doesn’t clump, it doesn’t take FOREVER to apply. The ONE HG that doesn’t flake or give you raccoon eyes just because the blasted cold wind makes your eyes water. That doesn’t take forever to remove either, and that doesn’t … Well, you get the idea.

And you know what? I’m contemplating abandoning my quest for The Holy Grail of Mascaras.

I’ve been using Maxi Lash by Guerlain for about a month. The packaging looks exclusive, but having used some of their Rouge G L’extraits for some time, I was expecting it to hav a bit more heft to it. It looks like gold. It feels like (and probably is) plastic. That’s a bad first impression. Then there was the scent. Leave it to the French to perfume their eyes. I mean. Come ON! And the brush…There’s really nothing at all spectacular about that. A thin, long nothing like what you’d expect to actually do anything more that coat your lashes in some black goo that won’t really do anything for you, except perhaps give you an allergic reaction to the scent. Obviously, we didn’t start off on the right foot.

SAM_0367Then the magic happens.

(I’m all about magic these days, probably because of my new UD palettes.)

And now I’m actually considering calling off the search.

Abandoning The Quest.

Because guess what? Guerlain’s magic wand does and doesn’t do pretty much all of those things. And it applies in an instant. Actually, if you put too much work into it, THAT’s when this darling goes clumpy on you.

I’ll admit I’ve had some issues, though, these last couple of weeks, feeling it didn’t perform as well as it did initially. The saviour, though, was UD’s Lush Lash System. I’ve tried using mascara primers before, with a lot of work and very little luck. Using just the lash conditioning end, just barely coating my lashes, and now were back where we started. Only my lashes gets a bit more care.

It does stand the test of volleyballpractice, but it’s not waterproof, so if you’re going for a walk in the rain or a blizzard, or you’ve got a horrific exam coming up, save yourself the trouble and leave your lashes bare. Or use something waterproof. Me, I’m happy, though, and while this all might just be me crushing on the art deco-vibe of the gold packaging, I’m  going to stick with Guerlain’s magic wand for a while longer.

Although… I’ve got an unopened tube of UD Lush Lash Mascara that I ordered at a discount after I bought Maxi Lash, so I guess I’ll pursue the quest for just a little while longer.

Leave a Reply

