Starting out

Sooo… Giving this another go. Tried blogging once, didn’t work out, but mayhap I’ve got a bit more to say this time around. Thing is, I’ve become a lot more critical of marketing, and a tad more sure of what I want. Time does that to you, I guess. Anyhow, here goes nothing and hopefully I’ll have a lot more of nothings to write.

I’m not very good at keeping things short, not even my height (love me a nice pair of heels), so please bear with me as I ramble on about holy grails, useless beautyproducts, my fave country (and how come I don’t live there), disappointing encounters, bad weather, recipes and whatever blather that comes to mind and that I just can’t stand not sharing with everyone who’ll lend an ear, or eye for that matter.

Starting out, I should warn you, my blather will mostly, or at least for the present, revolve around my experiences with makeup and getting to know my camera a lot better, so apologies for the bad photos while I’m learning to use this thing called technology.

Oh, and mind you, makeup behaves differently on different people, so what’s right by my skin and preferences might not be to your tastes. What can I say? Let’s just agree to disagree?

Speaking of starting out, as my close friends, and those not so close, will tell you I’m a makeup junkie. I’m mostly self-taught, but I have found a lot of tips and tricks online and in reading magazines that I expect I’ll be sharing in one way or another. I don’t remember how I got started with this addiction, heaven knows it’s not inherited from my mother who blames it on my father’s sister. I don’t remember when it started either, but I do remember playing with my best friend and doing each others makeup. Bright blue eyeshadow (Sorry ’bout that, V). I also remember eagerly looking up the pages in my grandmother’s weekly magazines that were concerned with makeup and makeovers. And I do remember my mother grudgingly admitting that my everyday makeup at school (basically mascara and Rimmel’s hide the blemish) weren’t all that bad as opposed to other’s. Recently, I was having breakfast with a friend and talking about this and that, when she said about me and my addiction that “[Makeup] is sort of your thing.” Well, there are some things a girl just can’t deny, and airheaded as it may seem, that’s one of ’em.

How did you start out? Makeup, knitting, whittling, or whatever other hobby that’s considered to be “your thing”?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Liv Elin says:

    I wanted to be an Indian…as in a Native American…when I grew up. I didn’t play with dolls, I built them houses and dressed them in home made Haute Couture. Thus…running with scissors or needles and other pointy objects. Lately bows and arrows, or swords. So there you have it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

